What's new

A few newbie questions!! (1 Viewer)

beastaudio

Auditioning
Real Name
Brandon
First off, I am just beginning the wiring and running stages of my first major HT setup. When I say that, I have had 5.1 and HD and all that good stuff but this will actually be a dedicated theater ROOM! It is in the basement of my house and already has been finished complete with drop ceiling. The room gets good air and stays warm in the winter so Im not concerned about that, running wire with the drop ceiling should be a piece of cake, and the dimensions of the room, are as good as i can get right now (Could use more headroom but oh well) My first questions would be:

1) With a 30-40 ft. HDMI cable running from stack to PJ would I need a signal booster?

2) with the drop ceiling putting the height at around 7ft and my prjector having to mount somehow directly below that, I am afraid it will all end up being too low/loud. with the room being long and thin, I have only a few places I can successfully mount the PJ and more than likely it will end up being about 2 feet behind the seating area. Will it be too loud just mounted by itself, or should I build a "hush box" or some type of enclosure around it? I could also set it offcenter a little and use lens shift but dont know if this will deteriorate the signal at all?

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

Phil Taylor

Supporting Actor
30 - 40 ft should not be a problem with today's HDMI cables.

My projector is within 4ft of my ears and I don't notice it when watching a movie. If I think about it I do but if the movie you're watching is decent you shouldn't ... most good projectors are fairly quiet nowadays unless it's in "high altitude" fan mode.

beastaudio

Auditioning
Real Name
Brandon