1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

2012 Ultra Thin iMac refresh buyers and owners thread

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Sam Posten, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Fusion available for the 21" now: http://www.macgasm.net/2013/01/07/fusion-drive-option-now-available-for-entry-level-21-5-inch-imac/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=fusion-drive-option-now-available-for-entry-level-21-5-inch-imac
     
  2. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,629
    Likes Received:
    1,160
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Off topoc: That link crashed mobile safari. I've also had the verge crash safari. What's going on with these websites and/or safari?
     
  3. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Via MacRumors, the thin design has been linked to the Brontosaurus theory!
     
  4. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    The hub sucks, most storage devices won't work with it. I need a serious 8 port powered USB 3.0 hub that is flawless. Any suggestions? Also.... I got into watching last season of The Walking Dead on Netflix from my iPad and slapped my head and thought 'I bet this would look pretty damn good on the new 27"er....' only to be stopped in my tracks because it requires Silverlight =( Maybe it's just me, but I refuse to install Flash, Java or Silverlight on aything anymore unless I absolutely have to. Until they release a way to watch without Silverlight on OSX I guess it's back to iPad viewing for me...
     
  5. mattCR

    mattCR Executive Producer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Real Name:
    Matt
    In the end, Sam, Netflix and others are always going to demand some sort of Content Protection Scheme. Studios won't let them do otherwise. Of the schemes that are out there, I would take Silverlight over Flash any day of the week. Less CPU usage, lays back, no fake installs or bundled trash (see: Java).
     
  6. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Right, but it's still another attack vector. The alternative, of course, is a dedicated binary. I'd rather go that way.
     
  7. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,629
    Likes Received:
    1,160
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Apple TV and AirPlay? My preferred hub is Macally 7 port USB 2 only, so can't help there.
     
  8. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    You might be on to something! I will try that! I think I can airplay from the iPad direct to the iMac!
     
  9. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    I know a lot of the guys at Macrumors forum lamented the loss of the VESA mount, but not sure anyone here at HTF cares, but Apple has a special BTO with mount but no stand for $40 now: http://appleinsider.com/articles/13/03/14/apple-now-offering-imac-with-built-in-vesa-mount-adapter-for-40-premium
     
  10. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
  11. Raul Marquez

    Raul Marquez Supporting Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico (USA)
    Real Name:
    Raul H. Marquez, MD
    Sam,
    What I'm just doing is moving my iTunes library to my new Drobo 5N (so far populated with 3 3TB WD Red and 1 2TB WD Red drives plus a 64GB mSATA card). I did not have the option of a Fusion Drive for my new iMac 27 since Apple does not ship computers to San Juan yet, and had to buy mine at Best Buy with the basic 1TB internal drive. However, I bought 8GB of RAM from OWC to boost it to 16GB.
    Have you tried any USB 3.0 hubs? I've seen so many warnings of interference with other devices so I'm concerned.
    Take care.
    Raul
     
  12. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,345
    Likes Received:
    563
    Personally I'm glad to see this. I'm hoping they come out with a reasonable SSD solution for the upcoming Mac Pro as well. Ideally I'd need a 480/512GB SSD to hold the OS and programs like Adobe Creative Suite, Lightroom, Logic Pro, Pro Tools + Instrument Expansion Pack, all of which eat up tons of space [and quickly overfill 128GB and maybe even 256GB] but if I can get them all on the SSD portion my workflows would speed up tremendously.

    Then I'd put all of my data, music, movies and RAW files on a separate mirrored 2x2TB RAID external thunderbolt drive (if I went with an iMac) or a mirror RAID internal set of drives in a Mac Pro to get maximum throughput and data security possible.
     
  13. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Doc, you might wanna sit down for this shocker, but all USB 3 hubs pretty much suck. They are inconsistent on providing power to devices like iPads which need extra juice, they prevent your system from sleeping, and other minor messes.

    I bought this one:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006TT91TW/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    It constantly wakes my iMac and doesn't charge iPads. Sigh.

    I'm hopeful that the new Thunderbolt hub from belkin will be better:
    http://www.imore.com/belkin-ships-thunderbolt-express-dock?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

    $300 but if it works it will be worth it.

    Personally I just unplug all my externals and power em down. It sucks.
     
  14. Raul Marquez

    Raul Marquez Supporting Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico (USA)
    Real Name:
    Raul H. Marquez, MD
    Sam,

    Was this before or after the upgrade for your USB 3.0 hub?

    "Update - Product Upgrade
    I) The power adapter has been upgraded from 12V 2A to 12V 3A to provide a higher capacity power supply to your high-power devices.
    II) We now incorporate the latest VIA VL812 chip for better power efficiency, lower operating temperatures, and broader compatibility."

    I agree that preventing a Mac from going to sleep would be a deal breaker for me....

    That Belkin Thunderport dock looks great! BUT $300?????

    Raul
     
  15. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    After, which is why it is so disappointing. I've pondered the possibility that I got an old stock one tho, so there's that...
     
  16. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Stuck at white screen after thunderbolt firmware patch. Wraaaaaa!
     
  17. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
  18. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Big takeaways:
    No 4k display this year, presumably implies no 4k Cinema Display when the Mac Pro launches?
    1TB SSD is $1k instead of 768GB for $1300, MUCH more reasonable.
     
  19. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,345
    Likes Received:
    563
    Wow - ok now I seriously (for monetary savings) have to consider an iMac. As Sam pointed out earlier (in either this or the Mac Pro thread) the reasons historically that I needed a Mac Pro are no longer relevant. With these new CPUs and GPUs (especially the 4GB 780) I think that the iMac will be plenty powerful enough to run all of my most power-hungry apps (Creative Suite, Logic Pro). I think the i7 + 780 + 512GB SSD just might be the ticket.

    Now I just need to see some reviews and benchmarks confirm what I already know (and for some of the bugs to be worked out, as with all first-time implementations like 802.11ac there is likely to be some) and I think I know what I'm getting myself for Christmas. :D
     
  20. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    19,986
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    For your particular case I wouldn't make any purchase decisions until you see the BTO prices of the Mac Pro. It could be a tough decision! I'm certain the iMac is up to your tasks but since we are this close to launch you should wait IMO.
     

Share This Page