What's new

$1500 budget for sub/speakers/avr (1 Viewer)

Artyfly

Auditioning
Real Name
Adam
Hi, I'm relatively new to the HT venue. I've dabbled but I would like to upgrade since now I'm out of the apartment and into a house, albeit still close to other houses. I would like to know if this setup would work for xbox gaming and bluray movies with the focus on sound quality in a 7.1 system with a budget of about $1500 to include speakers/sub/avr: Marantz SR5005 or Onkyo TX-NR709 or 809 (TestFreaks rated the 5005 & 809 as best mid-level AVRs) with Mirage OMD-5 speakers (6 of these), Mirage OMDC1(center), with a BIC V1220 (12" down-firing sub). Is either receiver underpowered to drive the sub? Should I reconsider the speakers? I don't see a lot of people talking about Mirage speakers. These seem nice looking and sound good I guess - only was able to test 2 so couldn't really tell differences with KEF or Klipsch or Energy set ups at Best Buy. Are SVS or Pinnacle subs good with this setup? I prefer a down-firing sub since I have cats. And does anyone know if the Marantz avr allows one to use an RCA cable to the sub since I don't see where one would go - would I have to use speaker wire to hook up to the sub? (I like the idea of omnidirectional listening but have read that perhaps the omni-directional stuff from Mirage is just hype and any speaker does the same thing as Mirage speakers) All this would be in a 20'(length) x 12' (wide) x 7'(height) room sitting approximately 15' away from the front speakers to accommodate the large viewing surface of the projected image from a projector. Any advise is greatly appreciated as I'm going nuts trying to figure out a good HT for this section of the finished, carpeted, basement area.

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave