Home Theater Forum › Home Theater Forum › Talk With The Insiders › Bill Hunt › Malware at Digital Bits?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Malware at Digital Bits?

post #1 of 11
Thread Starter 

Bill, 

When attempting to enter the Digital Bits page I'm getting a message stating that visiting the site may harm my computer. Attached is the Google info I'm getting....

 

 

 
 

Safe Browsing

Diagnostic page for thedigitalbits.com

What is the current listing status for thedigitalbits.com?

Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?

Of the 38 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-06-28, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-06-26.

Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including dhfyjrud321.com/.

This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS20013 (CYRUSONE).

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?

Over the past 90 days, thedigitalbits.com appeared to function as an intermediary for the infection of 1 site(s) includingdigitalbits.com/.

Has this site hosted malware?

No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

How did this happen?

In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

Next steps:

Updated 8 hours ago
 
 
post #2 of 11

I get the same thing.

post #3 of 11

Yesterday, The Digital Bits said:

 

"Okay... for those of you who can actually see The Bits without getting a malware warning, we've got a rare Sunday update for you on this situation. The problem is absolutely not actual malware on The Bits. It turns out that, unknown to us, one of the banners that appeared on our site recently was linking to a URL that known to be malicious by Google. That caused Google to flag The Bits, which resulted in malware warnings about The Bits to appear on many browsers. We have since removed that banner, and the associated link, we're scanning and double-checking the whole site today. We will shortly address the issue with Google - we'll have them check the site again themselves and verify that The Bits has no malware. That should take care of the problem, and the Google reported browser warnings should stop over the next day or two. Just so you all know. Sorry for the inconvenience. We'll be back tomorrow with another update, and the usual news."

post #4 of 11

In Firefox, you can get past the warning (which I'm still getting).

post #5 of 11

I got virus and trojans when going to TheDigitalBits. Nor do I trust going back to site which is unsafe.

post #6 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergeiShadow View Post

I got virus and trojans when going to TheDigitalBits. Nor do I trust going back to site which is unsafe.



It was not possible for the banner to have given you that, unless you clicked on it and went to the advertiser's site, and then allowed it to download and execute on your computer.

 

post #7 of 11


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will_B View Post



Quote:
Originally Posted by SergeiShadow View Post

I got virus and trojans when going to TheDigitalBits. Nor do I trust going back to site which is unsafe.



It was not possible for the banner to have given you that, unless you clicked on it and went to the advertiser's site, and then allowed it to download and execute on your computer.

 

I take it I must be an extremely gullible idiot and own a vastly overpriced Mac to allow this to happen.

Help I have the dumb and can't work a proper computer. Perhaps next time TheDigitalBits even allows for banners like these would be the time it gets DDoSed for over three years.
Yes I am extremely retarded to be swayed by head of Apple to fall to their marketing.

post #8 of 11

No one accused you of anything, although you seem to be responding with a bit of hostility to Will_B's post. I've been dealing with internet advertising in regards to businesses for over a decade and I'm also a certified computer tech that deals with these types of issues from the fix-it side. What Will_B stated is factually accurate.

 

Many sites that don't fill their inventory with direct ad sales make use of third party bulk advertisers. And even with the reputable ones, occasionally something like this gets through. And I know that when Bill finds out about issues like this he rectifies them ASAP.

 

In my experience, the leading cause of computer infections, and most computer problems in general, occurs between the chair and keyboard.

post #9 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolesrule View Post

No one accused you of anything, although you seem to be responding with a bit of hostility to Will_B's post. I've been dealing with internet advertising in regards to businesses for over a decade and I'm also a certified computer tech that deals with these types of issues from the fix-it side. What Will_B stated is factually accurate.

 

Many sites that don't fill their inventory with direct ad sales make use of third party bulk advertisers. And even with the reputable ones, occasionally something like this gets through. And I know that when Bill finds out about issues like this he rectifies them ASAP.

 

In my experience, the leading cause of computer infections, and most computer problems in general, occurs between the chair and keyboard.

I installed add-ons for Firefox mainly AdBlock Plussing and NoScript. Oh also installed DDoS on one of my servers.
 

post #10 of 11


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by SergeiShadow View Post


 


 

I take it I must be an extremely gullible idiot and own a vastly overpriced Mac to allow this to happen.

Help I have the dumb and can't work a proper computer. Perhaps next time TheDigitalBits even allows for banners like these would be the time it gets DDoSed for over three years.
Yes I am extremely retarded to be swayed by head of Apple to fall to their marketing.


I have no idea what you're rambling about; I was only noting that your infection must have come from something else (usually from installing programs that have been contaminated), and your blaming of a website is bizarre.

post #11 of 11

Bill,

  I love your Digitalbits site, I check it everyday. I have a question about the movie Machete. I have tried 3 different Discs of the movie in my Bluray and they won''t play on my player. I have a BDP-S570 model (Sony). Have you heard of others with this problem? My firmware is up to date. Can't fiqure it out, any info you can help me with?

                                                                                           Thanks, Rick    Mriggy4@aol.com

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Bill Hunt
Home Theater Forum › Home Theater Forum › Talk With The Insiders › Bill Hunt › Malware at Digital Bits?