Home Theater Forum › Home Theater Forum › Feedback and Testing › Forum Help and Feedback › Feedback Archive (Closed Issues) › Django Email from HTF? Danger Will Robinson!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Django Email from HTF? Danger Will Robinson!

post #1 of 27
Thread Starter 
I don't THINK this is official, and if it's not there's no way I can blame the real HTF for it.  If it's really from the real HTF tho hooo boy....


Quote:

Home Theater Forum

 to me
show details 4:24 PM (19 minutes ago)
 
Images are not displayed.
Display images below - Always display images from hometheater@jangomail.net
Hey sam posten!
Login Now | Edit Profile

Bring the Theater Home. Sound Off To Score Prizes.

Are you a Home Theater Guru?

Do you have copies of all your favorite films and TV shows on Blu-ray and DVD? Are you the one your friends and family turn to when they need to buy a new TV? Then Home Theater Forum needs you!


What's the deal?

Home Theater Forum has re-launched on an entirely new, kick-ass platform - so it's locked and loaded and ready for your best contributions. Here are some GREAT examples of what we're looking for!

Hardware Example     -     DVD Example     -     Wiki Example
 

What's in it for you?

Test drive some of the new features on the site and you're automatically entered to win one of three amazing prizes for your own home theater! Review gear or movies, start a new wiki, pimp out your profile, and spend some time on our forums communing with fellow aficionados. Best overall contributions to the site win.


Are we for real?

Yeah, we don't really joke around about home theater equipment. You shouldn't either. Unless it's on our forums.


Want to learn more?

Check out all the nitty gritty details about the contest like when it ends, how the judging works, and lots more.

What could you win?

First Prize: 42" Panasonic VIERA G10 Plasma Screen


 

Second Prize: Oppo BDP-83 Blu-ray Player



 

Third Prize: $200 Gift Certificate to your favorite gear store

Login. Contribute. Win.


Edit:  I have images off by default.  Not sure what they look like.  If this is indeed non legit I will turn em on and see if they are using official logos and such.

Sam
post #2 of 27
That came to you in an e-mail, Sam?
post #3 of 27
Looks legit to me.  See this link from your post.
post #4 of 27
Thread Starter 
It's using redirects in it Mike, that's not cool which is what put me on defense.  If it's legit then ok, but man I don't trust those links.

Sam
post #5 of 27
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Frezon View Post

That came to you in an e-mail, Sam?

Yes, it came to my main gmail account which I _think_ is linked to HTF, not sure, will have to confirm that.
post #6 of 27
Yup.  I'm pretty clueless about how that stuff works.

But I just decided to risk the one link...and it took me straight to the HTF contest page above. 
post #7 of 27
It is legit.  Our first full member email.  Ultimately we would like to get to a monthly email, for now we are looking at a few times a year (quarterly?).  Yes we are giving away a 42" Plasma, and Oppo BD player and a $200 gift card to your store of choice.....
post #8 of 27
Note I changed the title from "spam" to "email" as it was only sent to members who have opt-in selected on their accounts...
post #9 of 27
Thread Starter 
Thanks for the confirmation Adam.  No sweat on the thread title.  In the future would it be possible to use a service (or to adjust jango) so it does not use shady looking redirects?  I have no idea who Jango is (other than Boba's Father) and the 'real' Jango I _am_ familiar with, Jango.com is a music service, not a bulk email service (Jangomail.com).

Note that these guys are doing something even shadier, redirecting to offshoots of their OWN name, like Jango11.com when they do not appear to be related, again, to the 'real' jango.com

Sam

PS, not that it means much but Jango Email doesn't even have a wikipedia page while the real Jango does...  I DID try researching this before posting and that led me to get the post up even faster:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jango_%28website%29
post #10 of 27
I got this one too, and at the bottom it says:

"If you'd like to stop receiving our newsletter, please edit your preferences." (with a link)

Only problem is, with the new forum software, I have no idea what exact setting it is to not receive these in the future.
Please advise with the exact steps, thanks.
post #11 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeM View Post

I got this one too, and at the bottom it says:

"If you'd like to stop receiving our newsletter, please edit your preferences." (with a link)

Only problem is, with the new forum software, I have no idea what exact setting it is to not receive these in the future.
Please advise with the exact steps, thanks.
 

My Profile (top of the page), Edit Account Details,  uncheck Receive Home Theater Forum Email Newsletters (?)
post #12 of 27
 Thank you!
post #13 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Posten View Post

I have no idea who Jango is (other than Boba's Father)

From the way you spelled it in the thread title, I thought I might be getting an email from virtuoso jazz guitarist Django Reinhardt (who's been dead for 50 years).  That would have been cool.
post #14 of 27
Thread Starter 
post #15 of 27
I just got an email from "Home Theater Subscriptions" that came via "bombay.jangomail.com"

I had previously unchecked the "Receive Home Theater Forum Email Newsletters" as mentioned in Post #11

Is this legit?
post #16 of 27
Thread Starter 
I have not gotten anything new like that one.  Can you post a screenie?
post #17 of 27
Me neither.
post #18 of 27
I haven't opened it so can't post a screenshot! It is in my spam folder.

Did youse guys uncheck anything else in your preferences that might have stopped you getting this?
post #19 of 27
Quote:
Quote:Originally Posted by Marianne View Post

I haven't opened it so can't post a screenshot! It is in my spam folder.

Good for you!  Your parents probably also taught you not to speak to strangers?!? 


Quote:
Did youse guys uncheck anything else in your preferences that might have stopped you getting this?

Not me. 
post #20 of 27
The subject line is: "Home Theater Forum updates for the week of 10-14-09"

I'm sure it is probably OK, but would like some reassurance!

It's the "bombay.jangomail.com" that makes me suspicious!
post #21 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marianne View Post

The subject line is: "Home Theater Forum updates for the week of 10-14-09"

I'm sure it is probably OK, but would like some reassurance!

It's the "bombay.jangomail.com" that makes me suspicious!


 

Yes, it's legitimate. You can also unsubscribe from it in a separate item under Edit Account Details, Email Preferences. It's the first item: Subscriptions Updates. Change it to: No email (unless, of course, you want to continue receiving some sort of summary).
post #22 of 27
OK, thanks Michael!
post #23 of 27
Thread Starter 
I got it late today but didn't check to see if mine is also from that domain. I'd have been doubly suspicious if I had seen that, so nice work catching it. I know I know, I'm the boy who cried wolf on this stuff, but I really don't like what little I read about this jangomail service and i'll just say once again that I think using low rent services like jango really hurt HTFs credibility in my eyes. I think continuing to cheap out on stuff like that is going to seriously hurt the forums chances of attracting real insiders. Just mnsho.

Edit: mine didnt say bombay, it came from:  hometheater@msg.hometheaterforum.com....   Gonna look through the envelope a bit later tho.
Sam
Edited by Sam Posten - 10/15/09 at 7:20pm
post #24 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Posten View Post

I got it late today but didn't check .....

Edit: mine didnt say bombay, it came from:  hometheater@msg.hometheaterforum.com....   Gonna look through the envelope a bit later tho.
Sam

That's not the one Marianne is referring to.

(And: check always! The devil waits for that one moment your defenses are lowered.)


Cees
post #25 of 27
Thread Starter 
But both are legit Cees? 
I thought I was signed up to get everything, not sure tho.
post #26 of 27
To get Marianne's letter (if I may call it that for now), you need to have checked the option Michael described in his post above.

The other one has a subject line "Home Theater Forum Newsletter", and has no reference, whatsoever, to jangomail in it.

Both are legal.


Cees
post #27 of 27
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Reuben View Post

Yes, it's legitimate. You can also unsubscribe from it in a separate item under Edit Account Details, Email Preferences. It's the first item: Subscriptions Updates. Change it to: No email (unless, of course, you want to continue receiving some sort of summary).

Just looked, mine is set for weekly digest, does this mean I will still get that message from Bombay early next week?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
Home Theater Forum › Home Theater Forum › Feedback and Testing › Forum Help and Feedback › Feedback Archive (Closed Issues) › Django Email from HTF? Danger Will Robinson!