Forum NewsForumsHTF Chat Hardware ReviewsSoftware Reviews HTF Events
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum

Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum Forum Search: 
 
Web Search: 
 
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum


Forum Sponsors

 
Forum Jump

Post New Thread  Reply

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Home Theater Forum
Old 06-07-2007, 03:43 PM   #1 of 8
Walt H
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Local Time: 02:56 PM
Local Date: 07-20-2008
Posts: 248

Website Dealer?


Has anyone heard of or done business with WholeSaleAV? They claim to have been doing business on line for 12 years but at resellerratings.com, they only have ONE review.

Last edited by Walt H : 06-09-2007 at 03:40 PM.
Walt H is offline Quote this post in a PM Send Support Ticket
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
sendpm.gif
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
HTF Ads



Sponsored links



Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Old 06-08-2007, 02:59 PM   #2 of 8
Colin Davidson
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Local Time: 12:56 PM
Local Date: 07-20-2008
Posts: 375

Re: WholeSaleAV.com?


Walt,

While I have not personally purchased from them, a red flag for me is any place that won't put a physical address on their website. The site says:

"We opened retail stores, mall stores and even a catalog call center. As the 90's came we had a new opportunity, the internet. We have now been selling on-line for over 12 years and have worked in every major marketplace."

While ResellerRatings is a great resource, I also like to take a look at the BBB for the area that the business is in. After doing a little WHOIS searching here is the info I found:

The Advantage Co
+1 716 565 4009
5195 Main St
Williamsville NY 14221 US
So it looks like it is a part of Stereo Advantage in New York.

Hopefully this helps you in further searching to see if this company is reputable or not. Good Luck!

Colin
Colin Davidson is offline Quote this post in a PM Send Support Ticket
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
sendpm.gif
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Old 06-08-2007, 05:44 PM   #3 of 8
Walt H
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Local Time: 02:56 PM
Local Date: 07-20-2008
Posts: 248

Re: Website Dealer?


Thanks a lot Colin. I too was suspicious that they did not have a physical address which does bring up a RED FLAG for me also. Thanks for the info you found.

Last edited by Walt H : 06-09-2007 at 03:40 PM.
Walt H is offline Quote this post in a PM Send Support Ticket
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
sendpm.gif
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Old 06-09-2007, 03:37 PM   #4 of 8
Walt H
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Local Time: 02:56 PM
Local Date: 07-20-2008
Posts: 248

Re: Website Dealer?


Is the following statement enough to trust a website?

"Guarantee: We guarantee that all of our products are brand new, factory sealed with a manufacturers warranty."

The above is in quotes because it is a direct quote from the website. The website also has a purchase channel via Amazon.com.

Last edited by Walt H : 06-09-2007 at 03:41 PM.
Walt H is offline Quote this post in a PM Send Support Ticket
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
sendpm.gif
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Old 06-10-2007, 03:25 PM   #5 of 8
Colin Davidson
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Local Time: 12:56 PM
Local Date: 07-20-2008
Posts: 375

Re: Website Dealer?


Walt,

I checked the Yamaha site for authorized resellers and they do list the following company:

Stereo Advantage

5195 Main St.
Williamsville, NY 14221
716-632-8038

Which is the same info that came up from the search I did above. I checked the BBB in New York and did not find any info on either Stereo Advantage or WholeSaleAV. May not mean much in the grand scheme of things.

So here is what you could do:

1. Call Stereo Advantage and ask them if they are also WholeSaleAV.com. Or alternatively call WholeSaleAV on their toll free number make inquiries about the product you want to buy. This will give you an idea of their customer service and you can ask them towards the end of the call if they are also Stereo Advantage.
2. Ask yourself if it is worth the savings to have to deal with the headaches if a problem arises either in the purchase or later on getting warranty repairs if needed.
3. Should you decide to go for it, then make sure to purchase on a credit card that will help you out should something go wrong with the purchase/delivery portion of the transaction with the company.

Hope that helps. Please let us know how it goes with the call and ultimately the purchase should you decide to make it.

Colin
Colin Davidson is offline Quote this post in a PM Send Support Ticket
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
sendpm.gif
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Old 06-10-2007, 05:53 PM   #6 of 8
Walt H
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Local Time: 02:56 PM
Local Date: 07-20-2008
Posts: 248

Re: WholeSaleAV.com?


Thanks again Colin. I did notice Yamaha's website has Stereo Advantage listed as an authorized dealer but I also thought if Stereo Advantage is the "parent" company of WholeSaleAV.com, that may not automatically make the sub company an authorized dealer......this is basically the same thing you're thinking.

I'll let you know what happens should I decide to pursue this. I'd rather feel safe with a manufacturers' warranty than to save the extra money.....but DARN the difference in price from a KNOWN authorized Yamaha dealer is $100 which wouldn't be a bad deal IF this company is in fact authorized.
Walt H is offline Quote this post in a PM Send Support Ticket
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
sendpm.gif
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Old 06-11-2007, 10:36 AM   #7 of 8
Walt H
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Local Time: 02:56 PM
Local Date: 07-20-2008
Posts: 248

Re: WholeSaleAV.com?


Spoke to Yamaha and they said this company is NOT an authorized dealer.
Walt H is offline Quote this post in a PM Send Support Ticket
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
sendpm.gif
Home Theater Forum
Home Theater Forum
Old 06-11-2007, 09:53 PM   #8 of 8
Walt H
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Local Time: 02:56 PM
Local Date: 07-20-2008
Posts: 248

Re: WholeSaleAV.com?


I went ahead and paid the extra 100 bucks for the RX-V659 from a KNOWN Yamaha dealer.
Walt H is offline Quote this post in a PM Send Support Ticket
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
sendpm.gif
Home Theater Forum
Post New Thread  Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.
Total Page Views Since 7/8/2006: 149,123,273 | Page Views Today: 87,230


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

© 1997-2008 PARRON Enterprises, LLC
No part may be copied or reproduced without the
express written permission of the owners of this site.

  
Skin Chooser: 
Forums Directory