- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
I don't THINK this is official, and if it's not there's no way I can blame the real HTF for it. If it's really from the real HTF tho hooo boy....
Quote:

Home Theater Forum
to me
|
|
show details 4:24 PM (19 minutes ago)
|
|
Images are not displayed.
Display images below - Always display images from hometheater@jangomail.net
|
Hey sam posten! |
|
| Login Now | Edit Profile |
|
Bring the Theater Home. Sound Off To Score Prizes.
Are you a Home Theater Guru?
Do you have copies of all your favorite films and TV shows on Blu-ray and DVD? Are you the one your friends and family turn to when they need to buy a new TV? Then Home Theater Forum needs you!
What's the deal?
Home Theater Forum has re-launched on an entirely new, kick-ass platform - so it's locked and loaded and ready for your best contributions. Here are some GREAT examples of what we're looking for!
Hardware Example - DVD Example - Wiki Example
What's in it for you?
Test drive some of the new features on the site and you're automatically entered to win one of three amazing prizes for your own home theater! Review gear or movies, start a new wiki, pimp out your profile, and spend some time on our forums communing with fellow aficionados. Best overall contributions to the site win.
Are we for real?
Yeah, we don't really joke around about home theater equipment. You shouldn't either. Unless it's on our forums.
Want to learn more?
Check out all the nitty gritty details about the contest like when it ends, how the judging works, and lots more.
|
What could you win?
First Prize: 42" Panasonic VIERA G10 Plasma Screen
Second Prize: Oppo BDP-83 Blu-ray Player
Third Prize: $200 Gift Certificate to your favorite gear store
|
Login. Contribute. Win.
|
Edit: I have images off by default. Not sure what they look like. If this is indeed non legit I will turn em on and see if they are using official logos and such.
Sam
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"
- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
It's using redirects in it Mike, that's not cool which is what put me on defense. If it's legit then ok, but man I don't trust those links.
Sam
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"
- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Mike Frezon 
That came to you in an e-mail, Sam?
Yes, it came to my main gmail account which I _think_ is linked to HTF, not sure, will have to confirm that.
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"
- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
Thanks for the confirmation Adam. No sweat on the thread title. In the future would it be possible to use a service (or to adjust jango) so it does not use shady looking redirects? I have no idea who Jango is (other than Boba's Father) and the 'real' Jango I _am_ familiar with, Jango.com is a music service, not a bulk email service (Jangomail.com).
Note that these guys are doing something even shadier, redirecting to offshoots of their OWN name, like Jango11.com when they do not appear to be related, again, to the 'real' jango.com
Sam
PS, not that it means much but Jango Email doesn't even have a wikipedia page while the real Jango does... I DID try researching this before posting and that led me to get the post up even faster:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jango_%28website%29
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"
- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"
- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
I have not gotten anything new like that one. Can you post a screenie?
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"
- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
I got it late today but didn't check to see if mine is also from that domain. I'd have been doubly suspicious if I had seen that, so nice work catching it. I know I know, I'm the boy who cried wolf on this stuff, but I really don't like what little I read about this jangomail service and i'll just say once again that I think using low rent services like jango really hurt HTFs credibility in my eyes. I think continuing to cheap out on stuff like that is going to seriously hurt the forums chances of attracting real insiders. Just mnsho.
Edit: mine didnt say bombay, it came from: hometheater@msg.hometheaterforum.com.... Gonna look through the envelope a bit later tho.
Sam
Edited by Sam Posten - 10/15/09 at 7:20pm
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"
- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
But both are legit Cees?
I thought I was signed up to get everything, not sure tho.
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"
- Joined: October 1997
- Location: Navesink, NJ
- Post Count: 4,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Michael Reuben 
Yes, it's legitimate. You can also unsubscribe from it in a separate item under Edit Account Details, Email Preferences. It's the first item: Subscriptions Updates. Change it to: No email (unless, of course, you want to continue receiving some sort of summary).
Just looked, mine is set for weekly digest, does this mean I will still get that message from Bombay early next week?
Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream is here - Click here to Email me - Updates at Twitter & FriendFeed
Information Technology Blog: Infotechbuzz - Save The Alamo - Join the HTF Flickr Pool or discuss the pool here
"Buncha Savages in this town"