What's new

A checklist for a new LCD TV? (1 Viewer)

MDDC

Auditioning
Real Name
David
When my Samsung LN52B750 was delivered, the delivery guy from Pilot (I bought it from Amazon) helped to set up the TV. He said my TV's screen is relative darker than the same model he set up for other customers.

What could be the reason? Good or bad? Any suggestion?

Cheers!

MDDC

Auditioning
Real Name
David
Can somebody provide a checklist of things to check when a new LCD TV such as my Samsung LN52B750 arrives?

I am new in this stuff and would like to ensure I checked everything during my 30-day free-return period.

Thank you!

MDDC

Auditioning
Real Name
David
Can somebody provide a checklist of things to check when a new LCD TV such as my Samsung LN52B750 arrives?

I am new in this stuff and would like to ensure I checked everything during my 30-day free-return period.

Thank you!

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
If this is your first HDTV buy or rent a consumer-level calibration disc like Digital Video Essentials or Avia II. Hook up your DVD player and run the disc to adjust the settings before you try watching any of your normal video sources. This will save you the usual new-to-HD coronary when you fire up the TV and everything looks like crap (especially you SD DVDs and SD TV channels) because the factory settings are distorting the image.

Depending on your TV, you may have to move the player from input to input and adjust each of them individually. (You may be able to get away with doing each type of input once, then copying the settings from one HDMI input to the others, or using the same settings for all your component inputs.) This actually accomplishes two things - it calibrates the inputs and it makes sure they all work. If you never plan to use the component or s-video inputs you can skip them, but you should test the others, just in case.