What's new

SUSPIRIA re-mix missing sound effects and dialogue. Other problems too. (1 Viewer)

Matt_Stevens

Supporting Actor
I spent one hour last night going through the first 15 minutes of the film, comparing the LD to the DVD and I found some striking differences.
The DVD is recorded with the soundtrack slightly louder than the LD. I'd say about 2 to 3 db. I found this while matching dialogue, not sound effects or music, which I will explain below. (If my terminology is incorrect in regards to sound levels, forgive, as I am a layman)
The laserdisc includes the original 4 track soundmix. In this mix, the music is very loud. "Scary" loud. Rarely do the sound effects overpower the music. This was intentional.
The DVD's "remastered" soundtrack has the music volume lowered, with the sound effects volume raised. This is a big problem in two scenes that I saw. When Jessica is first being driven to the school in the rain and then when the first murder is committed, the music on the DVD is so much lower than the original soundtrack, that I had to push my system up a full 10db to match the LD. But then the dialogue and sound effects were much too loud and hurt my ears.
This is a serious mistake and looks to have been intentional with this mix (supervised by William Lustig). The Goblin soundtrack has always been louder than the sound effects track. Argento did this on purpose to set a mood and it worked. I say "worked" because the murders are not as scary as before on this DVD. There is a clear difference between the music on the DVD and the LD. The DVD might use the surrounds more, but the music on the LD sounded fuller, had more bass and was much louder and therefore, far more effective.