XBox typing solutions

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Cameron Yee, Jan 26, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    601
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Basically I just want to be able to name the tracks I rip to the HD without flipping through the keyboard GUI with my controller. Does anyone know if this would work in the GUI?

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=20385

    I also have looked at the Music Mixer package but that seems to have too many steps for what I want to do.
     
  2. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,577
    Likes Received:
    92
    There's a controller for the PS2 that has a keyboard built onto the actual pad. Just out of curiousity, could you use the PS2->XBox controller adapter with this controller and work with it or does it work some other way?
     
  3. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    The software needs to support the keyboard, and nothing but PSO does (as far as I know). Certainly, the dashboard doesn't support naming of files with it, unfortunately.
     
  4. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    601
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    There's something nice about the idea of transferring files from your PC to the XBox, but for my usage it basically means double ripping a disc just to spare myself from putting in titles with a controller. Does XBox Live have some kind of connection to CDDB? If it doesn't it should.

    If it weren't for the hassle I would probably be using my console more as a jukebox. As it is now I just have tunes that I like to drive to in PGR, which basically means my console is a jukebox for the Crystal Method.
     
  5. Dan B

    Dan B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know what you mean by too many steps with the Music Mixer.

    The last time I put in the music mixer disc, it automatically named the unnamed songs I had on the Xbox HD & only took seconds to do it (there were well over 100 songs too.) There are no steps...it does it automatically when you put the music mixer disc in.
     
  6. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    601
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    I don't actually have the Music Mixer package so I'm not aware of all the features. Does MM connect somewhere to get its data? If not, then how does it know what to name recent releases, like the newest Crystal Method?

    I didn't know about the track naming feature, so "too many steps" meant:

    1) Ripping a CD to my PC and getting the track data from CDDB
    2) Transferring the named files to the XBox

    I saw this as essentially ripping one CD twice, once on the PC and again on the console.
     
  7. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    601
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Okay, I read the product FAQ. Too bad I don't have broadband. Maybe in six months.
     

Share This Page