Word isn't allowing single spacing

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Brent_H, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. Brent_H

    Brent_H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured out how to fix it, but whenever I open up a new document in Word, it seems like everything is double-spaced. When I got to Format>Paragraph, Single spacing is the default, and is on. However, in the Spacing section, it has 'Before' and 'After' spacing. It's set to '10 pt' in the after section. When put to zero, it's fixed.

    I put the spacing to zero, closed Word, reopened, and it was back to 10 pt. My Mom's Word on her iMac does the same thing, and she's half a country away.

    Weird.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Radioman970

    Radioman970 Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,865
    Likes Received:
    723
    Location:
    Could be anywhere
    Real Name:
    James Perry
    I don't know why that has to be so difficult to do. Strange.
     
  3. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,204
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I had the same problem the first time I used WORD on Mac.

    Simply went to the little side toolbar and under the "alignment" or "style"
    tab is a selection for single spacing.
     
  4. Radioman970

    Radioman970 Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,865
    Likes Received:
    723
    Location:
    Could be anywhere
    Real Name:
    James Perry
    Sounds like a reinstall is in order maybe? If it's not keeping your settings.
     
  5. Brent_H

    Brent_H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    the thing is, it's already set at single spacing. it's the "spacing" in the "after" field that's defaulting to 10 pt.

    I'm not sure a reinstall will do it.... I can try. But the fact my Mom's Word is doing the same thing 1000 miles away is weird.
     
  6. Radioman970

    Radioman970 Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,865
    Likes Received:
    723
    Location:
    Could be anywhere
    Real Name:
    James Perry
    you're right. It must be something else.

    I was looking around on the net and found this forum thread discussing spacing. May help...may not.

    HERE IT IS
     
  7. Brent_H

    Brent_H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks Radioman. I'll try it out and see if it sticks. [​IMG]
     
  8. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brent,

    I've been trying (admittedly, not very hard) to solve this for months. It simply won't accept the defaults I set.

    Another setting that drives me nuts: The don't add space between paragraphs box is unchecked by default. I can't figure a way to leave that checked.

    I'm certain a re-install will not change anything.

    I have a feeling you're using Word 2007?

    Jon

    Edit: Problem fixed, I believe. I followed these steps found within Radioman's link (thanks, Radio):

    Right clicked on the Normal style, selected Modify, hit the Format button, select Paragraph and change the After Spacing to 0 point and the Line Spacing to single. Hit OK then select "New Documents based on this Template".
     
  9. Radioman970

    Radioman970 Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,865
    Likes Received:
    723
    Location:
    Could be anywhere
    Real Name:
    James Perry
    Holy hell, I was feeling about useless in this thread. [​IMG] I hope that actually does help. This was an ongoing problem with me for years. But I was of the "not very hard" level of trying as well.
     
  10. Brent_H

    Brent_H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool. looks good. hopefully it will stick. And yes, Word 2007. thanks guys!!
     
  11. Brent_H

    Brent_H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, now that I got around to trying it out, I realize I have Word 2008 and there is no option for "new documents based on this template" as far as I can tell.

    Back to the drawing board...
     

Share This Page