What's new

Wiring Questions on Ceiling Mounted FP (1 Viewer)

Craig.c

Grip
I hope this is the correct forum for these questions as I'm a newbie.

I'm about to set up my first FP system and have a few questions related to the wiring.

First let me describe the room. Its a multi-purpose room not a dedicated HT, although when using the FP it will be dark. The issue is that it is fully finished, including a drywalled ceiling, and thus getting wires in place and aesthetics are issues.

My FP will be about 17 ft from the screen, directly over the seating area, but I expect the the wiring will need to be 30-40 ft as I'm positive it won't go straight.

Initially I will be running component from my HD receiver, and DVI from the DVD to a Panasonic AE-900.

I know in a few years I will upgrade to a 1080p projector when they come down in price, and be connecting through a video processor. I'm getting a screen in 2:35 aspect ratio to go constant hight eventually.

Given that I want all the wiring I need for down the road, put in place now that leads to several questions.

1. Are there any particular specifications I need on the cable I put in place now, to handle 1080p feed down the road, other than just buying quality cables from some of the sponsors on this site?

2. I would like to put a component/DVI connection plate in the ceiling rather than wires going through a hole. Does this impact the picture quality at all?

3. I would like to have an electrician put a plug in the ceiling near the FP. Is there any way to use a power conditioner in that type of set up?

Jay Mitchosky

Senior HTF Member