What's new

Wine advice for the uncultured boob (1 Viewer)

Bob McLaughlin

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bob
Hi,

Recently one of our neighbors kindly gave us a bottle of wine as a gift. My wife and I are not big drinkers, and even then it's pretty much limited to the occasional beer. We know nothing about wine but are willing to learn. Sure, we could just guzzle it all down in Ikea tumblers but we want to do it right.

My questions are:
1. How do I store the wine? Is the refrigerator okay? Or is that bad?
2. It's red wine, what sort of foods should it be consumed with? Is it best enjoyed by itself?
3. Are there any decent websites for inexperienced wine drinkers to learn more about wine basics?

Thanks in advance...

Seth=L

Screenwriter
Real Name
Seth L
My preferences for red wine: If it is translucent I might put it in the fridge but not likely, semi-dry to dry wine I will not store in the fridge, i.e. it is not translucent it is much darker.

Seth=L

mylan

Screenwriter
I am a novice but if it is a good cabernet or shiraz (red), it should be stored at room temperature on its side, to keep the cork moist, until it is ready to be served.
It should be served at room temp, or chill slightly for 30 minutes prior to opening. A red will taste different after being open, or after it "breathes'. Red wine should be consumed within a couple of days or it will go acidic (sour). Reds go well with red meats but there are no hard and fast rules, only snobs who will tell you otherwise.
White wines should also be stored as the reds but chilled before drinking but not ice cold as beers would be. Whites go with fish or poultry as well as pork but again, enjoy as you see fit.

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member