Windows XP Install Help!!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by JasonMC, Jul 11, 2004.

  1. JasonMC

    JasonMC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've decided to build another computer and all of my parts came in this weekend.

    I have Windows XP Home upgrade disc. I previously had a Full Install Windows 98. I run the XP install, which includes: Format partition, loading files onto the hard drive. It then reboots and boots right back to the original set-up page instead of the GUI page where Windows XP is really installed. I hope that makes sense. The hard drive is listed in the Bios to boot.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Jason
     
  2. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try removing the XP Home CD from the CD drive on the next boot.
     
  3. JasonMC

    JasonMC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chris,
    Thanks for the tip. I tried that and I got a message to enter a bootable disk. I have an Abit AN7 motherboard. I'm going to call it a night and try some more tomorrow after work.
    Also, I don't have a mouse installed at this time. Would that cause any problems?
    Jason
     
  4. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, not really.

    OK, it's set to boot from the HD, and this is an otherwise fresh install (you're using an upgrade disc and then slipping it a 98 disc at somepoint?)

    The HD is not on an external controller (ie, like a promise card) and it isn't Serial ATA, right?

    If it is Serial ATA, of course, then during the install you need to hit F6 to provide it with Nvidia SATA drivers, and if it's on a promise, same deal.. otherwise the drive won't be made bootable. What this is telling you is that the HDD doesn't have a partition marked Active.
     
  5. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the XP upgrade disc allow you to do a clean install?
     
  6. JasonMC

    JasonMC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it does. It just asks for a previous copy of a windows disk. I put in my Windows 98 full install disc.
     
  7. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right, and that's fine. Just making sure the HDD isn't on a controller card or SATA. This is a standard ATA HDD, on the primary controller, correct?
     

Share This Page