WHV Press Release: The Waltons: The Complete Seventh Season

Discussion in 'TV on DVD and Blu-ray' started by Ronald Epstein, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator

    Jul 3, 1997
    Likes Received:
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    ON DVD APRIL 29, 2008

    Three-Disc Set Features 24 Episodes from the
    Critically Acclaimed Series’ Seventh Season

    BURBANK, CA (February 4, 2008) – Warner Home Video (WHV) brings another season of the award-winning television classic, The Waltons to DVD April 29, 2008. Titled, The Waltons: The Complete Seventh Season, the three-disc set features all 24 episodes from the series’ seventh season and retails for $39.98 SRP.

    Viewers will be captivated by the seventh season of The Waltons, which is comprised of 24 episodes that will make consumers laugh, cry and cheer. As the season unfolds, the United States’ entry into World War II brings big changes to Waltons’ Mountain. The family mourns the loss of Grandpa. Mary Ellen and Erin get an apartment in Charlottesville. Jim-Bob falls in love with a young girl who is preparing to be a nun. Elizabeth creates a poltergeist when she refuses to grow up. Olivia is diagnosed with Tuberculosis and must visit a sanitarium. Ben takes a new bride named Cindy with whom he sets up housekeeping in the shed. Godsey Hall is turned into a canteen for soldiers. Mary Ellen prepares to see Curt in Hawaii, until news of Pearl Harbor hits and the family learns of his death.

    “The Waltons is praised by consumers for its wonderful storylines that emphasize goodness, tradition and wholesome family values. It’s a nostalgic series that’s as American as baseball and apple pie, offering viewers a sense of what the country was like historically during the Great Depression and World War II,” commented Rosemary Markson, WHV Vice President, TV and Special Interest Marketing. She added, “We think consumers will find the seventh season of the show every bit as engaging and captivating as the previous seasons, with the Waltons clan growing and evolving, teaching us all lessons about life, love and the importance of family.”

    The Waltons, which made its network television premiere on September 14, 1972 on CBS, follows one family’s journey as they run a lumber mill during the Great Depression in rural Virginia’s Blue Ridge Mountains. Created and narrated by author Earl Hamner, Jr., the program is a reflection of Hamner’s own upbringing during the same era, with his experiences re-told to
    the viewer through the eyes of aspiring writer John Boy Walton (portrayed by Richard Thomas). The close-knit family includes father John Walton, Sr. (Ralph Waite) and his wife Olivia (Michael Learned), and their children John Boy, Mary Ellen, Jim-Bob, Elizabeth, Jason, Erin and Ben. Grandparents Zeb (Will Geer) and Esther (Ellen Corby) serve as the family elders of this large and loving family, who together face the challenges of 1930s United States while living on Walton’s Mountain.

    Season seven aired on CBS from September 21, 1978 to March 22, 1979 and featured 24 episodes.

Share This Page