Whole Home Chromecast / HDMI from single source

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Myke500, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. Myke500

    Myke500 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Myke
    Greetings,

    I am sure there is a somewhat simple answer for this but I can't seem to find it anywhere.

    Q: What would I need to get the HDMI signal converted to a cable 'channel' BUT ALSO keep the signal inside the home? Not sure if my neighbors would enjoy this as much as I will.

    Situation:
    I have 5 rooms that will one day all have TVs. For now only 3.
    I would like to have a channel that will play the Chromecast HDMI signal so that at any time one or more TVs can watch what is playing, but also retain the capability of watching other cable channels by just flipping the channel.

    All rooms have cable coax and WiFi access (although I would like to avoid streaming over the WiFi if possible to avoid bandwidth problems)
    I would like to avoid coax switches, and running multiple coax to each room.

    I have a basic RF Modulator with RCA input, and a HDMI to RCA converter. (I know this will loose quality, it is just what I have available)


    Equipment:
    1x Sony Home Theater (Surround) -> Vivitek Projector
    2x Emerson TVs (780p & 1080p)
    1x Nyrius NRFM-100 RF Modulator with channels 14 through 69 and RCA input
    1x HDMI IN to RCA OUT converter box
    1x Chromecast Dongle
    2x 5mhz-1ghz Dual Pass splitters/plexers connecting all the rooms with coax
    1x $100.00 to complete the project


    Thanks for any help and ideas
     
  2. Carl Johnson

    Carl Johnson Cinematographer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    23
    Real Name:
    Carl III
    So you want to convert the HDMI out on Chromecast to a cable television channel and use coax cable to send the image to every tv in the house? I couldn't begin to give you any advice on how to do it, but I am curious about if it could be done.
     
    Audio14 likes this.
  3. Audio14

    Audio14 Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tri-State
    Real Name:
    Daniel
    If you would like to stream chromecast contents to multiple TV via HDMI cable, buy a HDMI splitter with one in and multiple outs. However, you will be playing the SAME content on both TVs
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Why not get 5 Chromecast?One phone(or tablet/computer) can send content to as many ChromeCasts as there are...You just have to have as many Windows open as you have feeds to Individual ChromeCasts.
     
  5. Myke500

    Myke500 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Myke
    I want the same content across the channel. I would prefer to keep it across the coax for budget reasons. Several 50ft HDMI cables can be pricey. But I have not ruled that out as a last resort.
     
  6. Myke500

    Myke500 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Myke
    @schan1269Synchronization and ease of operating. If chromcast allowed one to cast to all of them at once then great (although each would pull a lot of WiFi bandwidth simultaneously) Even if it was not chromcast and instead is HDMI from the Blu-Ray. The goal remains the same. One Stream to multiple TVs simultaneously over Cable coax.
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Sure, It you can live with the barely viewable picture.Your 5 Windows open can't be the same content...5 times? Even decent 5.8 wireless senders(1 transmitting to 4) would have been under $250.You are spending more than that trying to be cheap.
     
  8. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Do you want it in HD? If you want to keep it analog and standard def, that's easy. You convert the Chromcast HDMI to standard video and run it through a ChannelPlus frequency agile channel modulator. It will be about $50 for the modulator and another $50 for the hardware to convert HDMI to standard video.

    If you want it in HD then what's your budget? Here's a nice modulator for a little under $1,700 - http://www.contemporaryace.com/QMOD-HD/product?gclid=CJ-26u7enr0CFWXl7Aod7T8Ajg and you would still have to convert HDMI to component video before feeding it into this box.
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Robert, question for you(or anybody that might know)...Converting to Cat5/6.Can that be ran through a Netgear FS605?Will HD video work...or will that corrupt it?I don't even know if ChromeCast is HDCP.
     
  10. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    The last time I looked, HDMI to CAT5 baluns required 2 runs of cable. There is no way it would properly work with a router.

    I also don't have any idea about ChromeCast and HDCP either. All of my suggestions assume there is no copy protection.
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    There is single run balun now for HDMI TrippLit has them for $30 each. I should look to see if somebody has come up with a "HDMI over cat splitter".
     
  12. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I learned something new. But the HDMI data would need to be sent via Internet Protocol before it can go through a router.
     
  13. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    This "wonderful new single run cat" has another standard as well...HDBaseT The cable we should have had from the beginning.
     
  14. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    By the way, I Sat in on the introduction of HDMI itself as part of a wholesaler show(think CEDIA for wholesalers).During the Q&A, I asked..."So this is twin Ethernet with a proprietary plug..."Well over half the audience looked over with a :-{} ...The panel (which included one of the brains...) promptly went..."next question"
     
  15. wizwor

    wizwor New User

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    len mullen
    I hope you guys are still following this thread. I stumbled across the thread searching for 'chromecast rf modulator' and joined the forum to participate in the discussion. I used to inject my satellite out to a RF channel to feed TVs otherwise connected to an antenna. I used agile modulators and tuned unused channels.

    Time marches on. TV is digital, the satellite dish is gone, and everything is hdmi, but I would still like to inject a few of my own channels and would like to learn what people know about modern, inexpensive rf modulators. Initially, I was thinking for streaming a news channel with continuous programming as a channel. Then I thought about adding a chromecast channel that could be watched on any tv and controlled by any tablet or phone.

    I'm bumping this hoping someone has discovered an inexpensive agile rf modulator.
     

Share This Page