Which used iScan to buy?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Greg Lovern, Feb 21, 2003.

  1. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking for suggestions on which used iScan model to look for.

    I recently picked up my first HDTV -- a 1-year-old used Philips 60PP9601. Yesterday my used progressive-scan Toshiba SD-4700 (only $102!) arrived and it looks great.

    Now I'm looking for a used iScan, for laserdisc, broadcast TV, etc. But which model? I don't need component input since I have a progressive-scan DVD player; S-Video input is all I need. Even the earliest iScan has S-Video input.

    But are later iScan models better in other ways? If memory serves, even the earliest iScan does 3:2 pulldown, correct? Are later models better in other ways?

    I'm not considering an Ultra, I don't want to spend that much even if it is a big improvement over earlier models. (If it is a big improvement then I'd get an earlier model now and a few years later get an Ultra when they're cheaper.)

    Thanks for any thoughts.

    Greg
     
  2. Joel_Ackerson

    Joel_Ackerson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have used all three, iScan V1, iScan V2, and iScan-Pro, the first one does not have aspect-ratio control, but work's great with LD, Directv, and Cable. The V2 has aspect-ratio contol, and off-course the Pro is the best of the bunch which cost's more $. I would think the V1, or V2 would be great with your Phillip's TV. I just sold my iScan V1 for $200.00, so that would be a great price point.

    Cheer's
     
  3. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is probably a dumb question, but... how do you plug cable into it? I've seen a picture of the back of a iScan PLus and it shows 2 S-Video inputs and 1 composite input. Do you need some sort of converter for cable?
     
  4. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Greg, the V2 has no component input, 2 S-video inputs and 1 composite. I would suggest going for a V1 or V2. I have a V2. I got the V2 so as not to get component input. I figured the more S-video inputs the better. The Pro model, with component-in, only has one. I've watched both the V1 and V2 extensively and for LD I doubt there is much difference myself. A friend, with a projector, who's opinion I respect, thnks the V1 is the best for LD, slightly he sez. I just don't see why you should spend more than what you could get them for. It's not like a V 1 & 2's won't work well with DVD if you needed. The V2 would have a slight edge there. I've run Sony 7700 & 9000ES and the Malata 996 into mine via S-video and the results were outstanding.

    Ultimately, the iscans work their very best, for LD, with S-video signals. I'd save on the iscan and plot to get a hi-end LD player to play into it, one with great S-video output if you don't already have one? [​IMG] Best wishes from Laserland!
     
  5. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    ....oh Greg, for cable you'd have to have the composite or S-video output of a cable box or run the cable into a VCR and then use it's A/V outputs....say hay![​IMG]
     
  6. Joel_Ackerson

    Joel_Ackerson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oop's! My bad, the V1/V2 have S-video/Composite in's and VGA out. I do not own a V2 anymore, just the Pro. It is a really simple install and toggle between the input's and option's you want. I used mine for LD(Pioneer Elite 79/99)work's great, Directv SD, S-VHS recording's, and standard cable.
     
  7. James Pfann

    James Pfann Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering about this issue as well. I'm looking to get the best possible image out my LD and SVHS players.

    Thanks for the great info, I'm off in search of a used Iscan.
     
  8. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all, it looks like all I need is the cheapest iScan I can find.

     
  9. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Greg, when you get your iscan try it composite and S-video and see what's up. It'll proably be a real close call. Somewhere down the line you might trip over a CLD-99 or a LD-S9, you never know...? [​IMG] Best wishes!
     
  10. randy bessinger

    randy bessinger Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2001
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Princeton 1500 which is an ISCAN v.2 PM me if you are interested. It is a little over a year and in excellent condition.
     

Share This Page