What's new

which speakers for around $1000 cdn (1 Viewer)

Simon Cho

Auditioning
Wow, I'm impressed by the expertise of the people in this forum. I'm just beginning to buy the parts to build a home theater. I just went out and bought a Marantz SR6200 for $500 cdn. I did some research on it and it seem like a good buy. Any comments from you guys. I can still return it. I'm looking at buying Athena point five series for speakers at $960 cdn. Anything else I should consider. I'm hoping to spend less than $2000 for both the receiver and speakers. One other thing, how good are the miniture speakers like the Bose AM6 III?

Thanks in advance.

Khoa Tran

Supporting Actor
i would stay away from anything that is produced by Bose, don't even pick up a brochure.

Rick CH

Agent
I'll second the recommendation to look at Canadian speaker brands. You should be able to find a decent system with $1500 or so left to spend on speakers. So go out and audition Paradigm, PSB, Energy, Athena, Dahlquist, and Axiom and see what you like. They'll all have a system in your price range. One tip I'll pass along about Axioms is that you should see if there's a dealer in your area. You'll find dealers sell for basically the same price in Canadian as the US dollar prices listed on Axiom's website.

JamieS

Stunt Coordinator
Where did you get the 6200 for $500 CAN? It's 6 X 110 W right? I purcahsed my Denon 1603 for $550 CAN and I thought I got an OK deal! $500 for the 6200 seems like a GREAT deal.

As for speakers Athtena I have heard good things about the Point 5 Energy take 5 is another system in the price range that has gotten good reviews.

The other thing you could look at is used. I know I just traded in my PDR 12 SUb and the dealer is selling it for like around $300. If you could buy some decent used stuff you could put together a book shelf and sub system that would be even better than a mini speaker system like the Take 5 or whatever.

Alan M

Second Unit