What's new

Which one to choose? (1 Viewer)

PaulDW

Auditioning
Budget Approx $5200

Wanna go big as I have a big room (from couch to TV will be 22 ft) to fill so 70 inch or bigger DLP.

Narrowed it down to......

72 inch Toshiba 72MX195

71 inch Samsung HLR7178

or 73 inch Mitsubishi either WD 73727, WD 73827, WD 73927

I think they are the main 3 out there and the top models for that brand?

Toshiba model is $3100 but is the top of the line Mitsubishi at $5100 and 2 inches bigger that much better? I'm a complete novice and it will be my first HDTV. Looking for a bit of advice/guidance.

TIA.

craig_curtis

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Craig
if your room is that big, wouldn't you be much better off spending that $ on a projector? then you could get 100 inch PLUS screen sizes and the quality will be much better, and much more "movielike"...

PaulDW

Auditioning
Well that's wall to wall actually so I guess if I knock off 2 foot from the wall on each end puts it down to more like 18ft actually viewing distance. My friend has the 73 inch Mitsubishi and I was very impressed. The room isn't really setup for a projector.

Side to side in Sound Advice the Mitsubishi had no reflection at all, the samsung did but it seemed to have a clearer crisper picture.

I really prefer an entertainment unit to fill the space a little more and to be able to put the receiver, dvd player etc etc so I haven't even looked at projectors.......my brain is frazzled just researching TV's right now to be honest.

timNGY

Stunt Coordinator