What's new

Which direction shoul you go in first when building a HT? (1 Viewer)

Ben Nelson

Grip
I'm just getting started in building a Home Theater again after 12 years. I was wondering what the general consensus was on the order of which part of the Home Theater you should address first.

Currently I have bits and peices of home theater from a time when I used to upgrade every six months. Much of it is really poor and out of date as I sold the only good stuff.

Here's what I have right now: (Don't laugh)

HDTV: Mitsu 52 inch DLP

Receiver: An old Technics SA-GX690

Speakers main: Advent Pearls
Center : MTX AAL 525SB
Rears : none
Sub : Polk Audio PSW450

DVD : Toshiba SD-4980SU
Cable/DVR : Motorola Dual Tuner HDTV DVR (from cable company)

Room: (Condo) Combination Living Room/Dining Room that's connecting to an open Kitchen/bar. Not ideal acoustics at all. This is the thing that concerns me the most.

Goal: Mostly movie enhancement. Accuracy, imaging, soundstage, dynamic range most import characteristics I'm seeking.

Preliminary Budget: $1000 for speakers, $700 to $1000 for Receiver
(Tell me if you think these numbers are disproportionate)

I was thinking that I'll probably keep the sub for now. It does a fairly decent job. I think the more immediate need is the other unmatched speakers. I was thinking it might be better to buy the speakers of my home theater first. That way, after some time, I can just buy the newer model receivers when they come out. Speaker design doesn't change nearly as much Receiver design so I think this might be a better first step. If anyone disagrees with that, please let me know.

The speakers I'm currently looking at are:

Mains: (2) Ascend CMB-170 SE
Center: (1) Ascend CMT-340 SE
Rears: (2) Ascend HTM-200

Cost: 828 + 60 dollars shipping.

I've heard nothing but good things about these speakers but that's the only thing I really can hear since there's no way to listen to them without buying.