What ties to wear with black shirts?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Vince Maskeeper, Jan 31, 2004.

1. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

I love black dress shirts. Black or Dark Grey are my favorite, I hate white dress shirts.

For a while I have been wearing a dress shirt informally, not buttoned all the way, no tie, with a t-shirt underneath slightly exposed.

Recently I've been getting the bug to be a bit more "dressy" for class, being it's my last semester and all. I wanted to start wearing ties with my dark shirts, but I have no idea what to wear.

In the rare cases I have had to dressup, I ahve worn a black tie on the black shirt, but it looks a little too mafia or mortuary, so I was wondering what else works?

White would only work if I'm a guitarist in a new-wave band, and the only other thing I've seen that would work is shiny grey (silver) or shiny gold.

Any other thoughts?

2. Mark Shannon

Mark Shannon Screenwriter

I would suggest either a solid navy blue, or a solid dark red. If you're feeling a bit more outgoing, a brighter red.

3. Kami

Kami Screenwriter

I always wear a dark red tie with my black shirt (hate white shirts too).

4. Glenn Overholt

Glenn Overholt Producer

So, you wear the black tie and talk Italian all day - what's the problem? [​IMG]

Seriously, white would be best, but any tie with a white background would fit well. Not white with other equally spaced stripes or checks, but predominatly white with a.. Ok, I had a teacher once that used to wear a white tie with small flowers on it. The petals were all different colours, but they only took up about 20% of the tie space.

The contrast works out really well, IMO.

Glenn

5. Brian W. Ralston

Brian W. Ralston Supporting Actor

Brian W. Ralston