What's new

What speakers should I get? (1 Viewer)

Mark Austin

Supporting Actor
I'm kinda new to this HT thing, and was just wondering what type of speakers people around here would recommend?
Thanks in advance.:)

Mark Austin

Supporting Actor
Thank you for the suggestion. I have heard a lot of good things about Paradigm on this forum. I will have to check them out. ;)

John_E

Stunt Coordinator
Sorry---I just got through reading both threads and I couldn't resist. :D I do have a Paradigm setup in my family room, however. I just bought 4 Atoms, a CC170, and a PDR-10 in Canada for about $625US. If anyone is looking for a nice budget setup, I highly recommend it.

Martin Rendall

Screenwriter
There's this guy from Austin too who has 20's, 80's and 100's. Maybe you could hook up with him to audition?

Also, it would be helpful if you could tell us what your primary concern with the speakers is. Good sound? Well marketed? Most popular?

Martin.

george king

Supporting Actor
Mark,

Everyone would love to help you, but I think you should provide a little more information. For example, what is your budget, how many speakers do you need, and will this be only for HT or for HT and music?

Everyone will shamelessly plug their favorite speaker (I will do the same), but the best advise is to take some time, take some of your favorite CDs and listen to lots of speakers.

As to the shameless plug. I love Kef speakers because of the amazing midrange and high frequencies. The downside is they do not have much useable bass, so a sub is necessary.

Budget set up:

2 pairs Kef Q15.2's (fronts and surrounds - $350/pair list)

Q95c.2 center ($350 list)

Adire audio Rava sub.

Middle of the road set up:

2 pairs Kef RDM 2 (fronts and surrounds - $1200/pair list)

Q200c - center ($800 list)

Adire audio Dharman ($600) or SVS sub

High End