What's new

What single game made you buy a system? (1 Viewer)

Michael St. Clair

Senior HTF Member
I've been collecting for 25 years, but it wasn't until the 32-bit generation that a single game was enough to get me to buy a system.
Tempest 2000 made me buy a Jaguar. I didn't buy one until I could get the system, plus the game, and an extra controller for about $170 (system alone debuted at $250 if I remember right), but that was enough for me. I didn't care if another good Jaguar game ever came out (lucky me, only 2 or 3 more good ones did), as long as I had my T2K. I still love that game.
Ridge Racer made me buy a PSX. On launch day...when was that, 9-9-95? Seems like a lifetime ago. Alas, from a graphical standpoint, RR hasn't even held up as well as the other games on this list (even Tempest 2K). Great game, though. And I bought an import neGcon for analog control, well before they were available in the states.
Mario 64 had me at hello (tear). Yep, got an N64 on launch day, and didn't buy another game for months. I loved the N64. Despite having a small library, the N64 was a tough act to follow. The first party games were excellent...one can see why so many 'Cube games are just prettied-up N64 remakes...which has its good and bad sides. My opinion of course...you may find the best 'Cube games to be more original...
Night Warriors prompted me to finally get a Saturn, but not until I could get a Saturn for $100 by trading in any 3 used PSX games. Pure fighting goodness, and the best 2D ever to grace a home console to that point. Lucky for me, the last couple of years of the Saturn (including imports) were LOADED with more fighting and shooting goodness.
Soul Caliber for the Dreamcast! I waited until the system was out 3 months and I got an online deal in the 'crazy days' of e-commerce...system for $100! The legend will never die! SC is still an amazing game, and the DC may very well be the best all-around system ever released for the so-called 'diehard' gamer.