What should I tell the builder to add????

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Angelo_Petralba, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. Angelo_Petralba

    Angelo_Petralba Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All-

    I am having a house built that will have a dedicated "Media Room"..I want this to be my HT room...It's roughly 18 X 14 (I can enlarge it if needed).

    Should I have them Pre-Wire (Video, 7.1 Audio Set-up, Projector wiring, etc etc) everything??
    Should I have them install extra Wall Padding?
    Should I use Carpet/Wood/Tile for flooring?
    Should I bring in an HT specialist to the builder??


    Thanks for reading and your response.

    Angelo
     
  2. Demetrius

    Demetrius Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Angelo,
    You have an great opportunity! I would suggest getting a pro to help. Your room has the potential to be awesome, however if you wait too long your options start dwindling. There are so many things that you can do now, you need to start with "What exactly are you going to expect from this new media room". Figure out how much you are confortable with spending and either find a local HT pro or get the answer to the previous questions and post your desires here and I am sure we can help answer your questions and steer you in the right direction.
    1) How many seats do you want/need?
    2) Are you going to listen to music?
    3) Is it going to be dedicated for Movies/Sports/Music?
    4) Do you want to store DVD/CD in your media room?

    Check out some of the HT in HTF gallery maybe you can get some ideas!
     
  3. Angelo_Petralba

    Angelo_Petralba Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Demetrius-

    Thanks for the response..I just read the entire build-up of mr Scott Pope's theater and its pretty awesome...I don't think I'll go to that extreme unless my budget permits.


    This room will be mostly for Movies(50 %), Music (25 %), Games (25 %).

    I'll be using some gear that I already have like speakers, Subwoofer, recycled seats, wiring, DVD player and amplifiers.
    The things I will be purchasing will mostlikely be a new Receiver, a projector and screen.

    Budget will be between 15K.

    Thanks
    Angelo
     
  4. Matthew Todd

    Matthew Todd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2000
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Angelo, this post is actually copied from my response to a similar question several days ago, but I thought it might be helpful.

    Since it's being built from scratch, you have a great opportunity here to really do things right (and that doesn't necessarily mean expensive). Is this room meant for anything other than media? Is it "dedicated"?

    I have an unfinished basement room almost that same size that we will be turning into a dedicated theater, and one thing that I will definitely do is to get help from someone who specializes in home theater design before building the theater.

    Basically, you can end up building a room and putting fairly expensive equipment in it, but getting relatively poor results. The room is a big part of how a theater is going to perform (sound and video).

    Personally, I plan to get design help from Dennis Erskine (I'm sure there are others here on the forum who have used his services or are familiar with his reputation)

    Here is his website:

    http://www.designcinema.com/

    I would contact Dennis Erskine (or someone like him) by email or phone and explain what you're interested in doing.

    I believe that Dennis has worked with a wide range of budgets, and he is willing to work with those who want to do a lot or most of the work themselves.

    Another forum in addition to here that you should visit is:

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/

    Especially check out the "Home Theater Builder" forum section. You can find numerous posts by Dennis and others there that will help you in building the theater (especially if you decide to design it yourself)

    Matt
     
  5. Angelo_Petralba

    Angelo_Petralba Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Matt...greately appreciated!!

    Angelo
     
  6. Jim Sentry

    Jim Sentry Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unquestionably add extra ventilation. A projector can heat an enclosed room quite a bit.
     
  7. JustinG

    JustinG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    also, don't forget to run Cat 5 for networking and phone lines for the room. You may have an HTPC later on and you'll want to be able to hook up to the network.
     
  8. Dave Milne

    Dave Milne Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Angelo,
    Definitely call Dennis or other professional to help with the planning.

    But if nothing else... PRE WIRE EVERYTHING!
    It is so cheap to do now, and so much a pain to do later:
    7.1 sound
    Optional subwoofer locations
    Platform bass shakers
    Video, power, and screen trigger to projector mount
    CAT5E for networking
    CATV, OTA and/or Satellite feeds
    Extra dedicated 120V circuits for equipment
    Extra lighting circuits (sconces, etc)
    Power for motorized screen
    Computer interface to video display
    Multi-zone speakers from equipment area
    Phone line for TIVO
    Security equipment
    etc.
     
  9. shaniceMW

    shaniceMW Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    my builder said they use cat5 for all of their wiring. i dont know if i believe them. since they put it in writing, i will hold them to it. but for every electrical outlet they say they run cat 5. we shall see. do builders use rg6?
     
  10. Dave Milne

    Dave Milne Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shanice,
    Cat5 is only for telephone/data/networking. Electrical power still requires power cable (typically 14/2 or 12/2 NM "Romex"). CATV, Satellite and OTA antenna feeds still require coax (75 ohm, RG59 or RG6).

    If your builder is saying they run Romex and Cat5 to every outlet, this means they will have two wall plates at every location. Ridiculous overkill. Since all network cables should go directly back to a central "home run" location, not "daisy chained" like power and telephone, this would be miles of wire. Tell them to save the thousands it would cost and buy you an $80 in-home wireless network kit from LinkSys, NetGear, etc.
     
  11. shaniceMW

    shaniceMW Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    i know. i asked the builder specifically. let me get my email out.

    From me:



    i have a belkin wireless system. i'm simply thinking about resale. i will tell them if they can to just run drops from the outlets i specify to the basement and have one from the demarc to the basement and i will get a command center. that's if they let me do that. if not, i guess i will do the same thing. it will be a bit uglier but it will work. why the heck is this stuff not standard? it costs less to do it this way than to terminate everything outside. ugh.
     
  12. Dave Milne

    Dave Milne Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think what they are saying is, "all of the networking outlets that you already have in your contract will be Cat5 as STD" as opposed to Cat 3 perhaps.
     

Share This Page