What kind of receiver should i buy for this speakers??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by David.DJ, May 1, 2003.

1. David.DJ

David.DJ Auditioning

KLH Speakers and Subwoofer

hi, i am new to this home theater stuff and i was wondering, what kind of reciever should i buy for this kind of speakers? Is there any receivers that i can buy under $100 for this kind of speakers? Im on a budget of $200 because that is all i have and i want to hook my xbox to this speakers or the reciever that i can buy under $100. I was wondering also is this a 500 watts speakers? Please rate this speakers and pls give the good and bad.

Thank You

2. ScottRCapt

ScottRCapt Stunt Coordinator

David,

Thats more like a computer set up than anything that could be called "Home Theater".

I doubt you will be able to find a digital 5.1 channel receiver for $100.

If you are hooking this up in a dorm room or small bedroom, maybe you can find a boombox that has 5.1 output, but I don't know of anything like that.

Sorry,

Scott

3. Chris Tsutsui

Chris Tsutsui Screenwriter

Most people will say bad even though they havn't heard them just because KLH is a low end brand. For $200, you could try and find a home theater in a box special that includes a receiver to get you a better bang per buck.

The speakers say 5-100 watt capacity, so you "could" get a 100w x 5 receiver. (500 watts)

My suggestion is to keep a good eye out for all clearance, discounted and used 5.1 receivers in that price range. There arn't any brand new ones for $100 that I can think of. You'll probably be better off with a used or discontinued model.

4. David.DJ

David.DJ Auditioning

Chris, i was thinking of buying this RCCA RT2350 (CLICK ME) is this good enoough for my small room? because i just want to have dolby digital surround sound for my xbox and home audios. Also is this 5.1 surround sound? if you can find me a better one that is much cheaper pls tell me.

Thank You

5. DarwinU

DarwinU Extra