What's new

What is the resolution of direct view CRT HDTV? (1 Viewer)

Peter Ping

Agent
I am new to HDTV. I have a direct view CRT widescreen HDTV monitor (RCA D34W20). According to the specs sheet, my HDTV has 910 lines of horizontal resolution. I'd like to know how to translate this into HDTV format. Does this mean that it has 1618 vertical lines or horizontal dots (910x16/9=1618) or simply 910 lines or dots? How many lines of horizontal resolution for 910 vertical lines or horizontal dots? Also, how many scan lines or vertical dots are there according to the ATSC standard and how many for typical direct view CRT HDTVs? Thanks.

Michael TLV

THX Video Instructor/Calibrator
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Chen
Greetings

RCA spec is typically across the width of the screen.

910 x 1080 would give you the total pixel count.

Regards

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
Jeremy,

Yes, that is what makes them HD - High Definition. Be carefull, though, they are not necessarily pixels. With CRT's, we refer to lines of resolution. Digital (LCD, DLP, etc.) displays are the only ones with pixels.

Standard television has 480 visible vertical lines, HD has 1080 (or 720) vertical lines.

MichaelTLV, Isn't it true that most direct views do not have the ability to completely display all 1080 vertical lines? I have noticed on all HD tubes (except for the new Sony XBR) that there are definite scanlines and/or a shadow mask visible at a distance that does not show scanlines/pixels on a comparable LDC/DLP/plasma. I have always heard this is due to the resolution limits of the CRT direct view tube. The 34XBR I saw was outstanding, but all others were lacking.

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member