What is everyone powering their sonosub with?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bob Bartlett, Jul 5, 2001.

  1. Bob Bartlett

    Bob Bartlett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    I plan on building a sonosub but I am limited on the amount of money I can spend. I have a older surround sound receiver that I plan on using, but was wondering what others use. It seem new mono and stereo amps are expensive.
     
  2. Patrick_L

    Patrick_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 1999
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Bob,
    i use a Soundcraftsmen 2 channel amplifier that i bought off of Ebay for $275.00 + shipping. the amp is rated at 325 w/pc @4 ohms and works great with my two Twin Towers of Doom Shiva subs. also has a built-in fan which is pretty quiet. hope you find what you're looking for.
    ------------------
    Patrick
     
  3. Mark Hayenga

    Mark Hayenga Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 1999
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've used the Apex JR, the Adire AVA250, and now a used Adcom GFA-555II. All have been satisfactory for the money spent, but I really like the Adcom.
    ------------------
    Mark Hayenga
    www.hayenga.com
    ----------------------
    "Saru mo ki kara ochiru"
     
  4. Brian Steeves

    Brian Steeves Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2000
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adcom GFA555 series II... [​IMG] Bridged into 4ohms it 800watts!
     
  5. Shade Watson

    Shade Watson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you really get more power by bridging the amplifier and wiring both voice coils in parallel, as opposed to connecting each coil to one channel of the stereo amp?
    With the Adcom GFA-555II, it would seem that you get 800W (bridged power @ 4Ohms) of power instead of 400W (200W x2 @ 8Ohms).
    Do you actually get more power this way?
     
  6. John Morris

    John Morris Guest

    I have a Crown K2(2500w into 4 ohms bridged)waiting for my sonosub.
    My personal favorite budget subwoofer amp is the SoundStream DA.2 amp. It is fanless, small and costs around $400. Oh yeah, and it puts out 1000w into 4 ohms bridged and is stable into 2 ohms). Trouble is... they've been discontinued for a few years and are hard to find.
    ------------------
    Take Care,
    merc
     
  7. marc seals

    marc seals Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1998
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have a pro-audio amp. It is an AB Systems Precedent Series 900. Also fanless and puts out around 325 watts @8ohms per channel stable into 2 ohms. I bought it from a fellow HTF'er!
     
  8. Ken Cline

    Ken Cline Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't the pro audio amps require a higher input voltage than home audio? Is that a problem?
    ------------------
    Ken Cline - Home Theater Fanatic
    ken_cline@yahoo.com
    Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Crap!
    www.dvdtracker.com/~kencline.asp
     
  9. John Morris

    John Morris Guest

     
  10. Ken Cline

    Ken Cline Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    John,
    What I meant was the source input, from the pre-amp to the input of the power amp. Sorry for the confusion [​IMG])
    ------------------
    Ken Cline - Home Theater Fanatic
    ken_cline@yahoo.com
    Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Crap!
    www.dvdtracker.com/~kencline.asp
     
  11. Seungsoo Hwang

    Seungsoo Hwang Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 1999
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im using a Peavey CS800, got it used for $200, 400w x 2@4ohm. The voltage problem seems to only affects some pro-logic receivers from what I've seen (my old pioneer VSX-D307 couldnt use the peavey, and even a line shifter from EbTech didnt work..)
     
  12. David-alexander

    David-alexander Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would suggest the use of unbalanced to balanced converter, such as the ARX L8 or the TASCAM L80. it's the only sure way to provide all channels proper conversion to balanced and since they are good for 8 channels, that's the way to go in case you plan on adding more pro amps.
    Believing pro amps will autocorrect by themselves is to close to be a myth..... mixing consumer and pro stuff ain't that easy.
     

Share This Page