What is AMD XP?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rob Varto, Oct 10, 2001.

  1. Rob Varto

    Rob Varto Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was looking at some motherboard / processor combos at pricewatch.com and found an AMD processer with an XP pre-fix. I don't know what the XP means, can someone help (I doubt it's the OS from Microsoft).
     
  2. Steve Kramzer

    Steve Kramzer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Previously nicknamed "Palomino", the XP names are a new measure to veer away from the standards of processor frequencies to prevent direct comparison to Intel. Since the 1.53 GHz is supposed to perform as well or better than a Pentium 4 1.8 Ghz, it gets the name "XP 1800."
     
  3. KeithO

    KeithO Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The XP is basically the new Palamino chipset. Full SSE instruction compatibility, more cache, etc. The 1500/1600/1800 refers to the "comparable" P4 speed since a XP running at 1.4Ghz is actually faster in most applications and video encoding than a P4 1.6.
     
  4. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Rob Varto

    Rob Varto Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    So can you still use the same motherboards as your would a TB processor? Can you still use SD2100 RAM, etc?
     
  6. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    $120 is about the cheapest I have found a retail 1.4Gh Athlon - at least at a reputable online store. I would consider $100 a great deal.
    You also have to remember that 900mhz Athlons at 200MHZ FSB used to be $200 and now can easily be found for $50. The 1.4 can always get cheaper! [​IMG]
    C. Ryan
    ------------------
    http://www.elitestoragedesigns.com/RyanOAR.bmp
     
  8. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe with the XP AMD is going to stop making Tbirds, as the XP can be used in any old mother board and they are coming out in 4 different speed raitings.
    Oh I don't think the XPs have anymore cache in them, than the Tbirds, but they do have an excellent branching tech in them.
     
  9. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    I personally feel more safe using their HSF with a 3 year warranty. If it craps out with their cooling device, it would be worth it too me. But again, everyone has their own ideas reagrding warranties. I hate shopping for HSF anyway - this way I know I am getting one that is supposeed to work at its intended clock speed.
    C. Ryan
    ------------------
    http://www.elitestoragedesigns.com/RyanOAR.bmp
     
  11. John Besse

    John Besse Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trinity, FL
    Real Name:
    John
    I'm still in the debating stage on what I want to do. I'm currently running an Athlon 1.4 T-bird on the Asus A7A266 board with 256 of DDR Ram. Since I hate Asus and they have terrible customer service, I'm gonna throw my board on eBay and buy the Tyan Tiger dual processor MB.
    The Tyan Tiger is meant to run the Palamino chips since they have the MP (multi-processor) rating as well as supporting the Palamino chipset.
    Nonetheless, I just got my Asus board and got it up and running 2 weeks ago. I had Windows Millenium on it up until 3 days ago. It was running terrible, and I still can't figure out why I threw it on my system in the first place. I did a format and installed Windows XP and got that up and running. Wow, what a difference that made. My system hasn't been restarted since I formatted and it is still running fast and stable.
    This is my first Atlon Processor. My last proc was a Celeron 566 overclocked to 850. It was fast, but this system that I'm running right now is way more than I need at the moment. But since I'm dumb as a rock, I wan't to fix what isn't broken and go over to dual processors.
    I'm torn between selling my 1.4 T-bird and picking up 2 of the XP 1600's. I'm extremely happy with my 1.4 T-bird, so I don't know if I actually want to sell the proc. Yet those XP procs just sound ever so sweet, and I want to get my grubby little hands on them!
    ------------------
    My DVD Collection
    My Laserdisc Collection
     
  12. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    What the XP is is an ungodly performer.. check out http://www.tomshardware.com/ etc.. the XP CPU is way -underranked- the XP "1800" beats the crap out of a P4 2Ghz in every benchmark with only one exception (Quake 3) but in newer games (Max Payne, Serious Sam, Wolfenstein MP) it romps. AMD really put the results together with the XP.. while Intel keeps ramping core speed AMD seems to be getting more done per Mhz..
    Compare it this way:
    My Lincoln is a V6. My sister has a V6 mustang. Not even comparable in raw speed.. they get things done differently. Same with the AMD. Very well done on AMD's part.
     
  13. AaronNWilson

    AaronNWilson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I think that if you aren't going to overclock then going the retail option is much better. Plus what happens with these bargain basements places is frequent disappearing acts.
    The computer store my brother bought his computer from in march has gone out of business so when he had problems with it he had to sort it all out with abit himself.
    Aaron
     
  14. Tom J. Davis

    Tom J. Davis Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 30, 1999
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let's all hope AMD doesn't drop prices too much more. Remember, we need them to make money so they can stay around and keep Intel honest. [​IMG]
    Think of how much the Pentium III 1.0G would have cost if AMD hadn't of been thumping them with the Athlon.
     
  15. John Besse

    John Besse Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trinity, FL
    Real Name:
    John
    When you buy an Intel processor, you're paying their marketing fees! That's why they are so much damn money. How much do you think that Intel Blue Man Group campaign cost? I bet it was a fortune [​IMG]
    ------------------
    My DVD Collection
    My Laserdisc Collection
     
  16. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    To quote Homer Simpson:
    "Damn that Blue Man Group"
    CW
     
  17. Sean Oneil

    Sean Oneil Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't believe that you can run the XP's in a dual processor configuration -only the MP's. At least that is what I have been told by several retailers. However, the newer MP's should be arriving this week according to a local shop -1.4 GHZ and should be around $200 per.
    Has anyone ever tried to run non MP Athlons in a dual config with success?
     
  18. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reason #233 to stop buying Intel Processors:
    The sooner we stop, the sooner the Blue Man Group vanishes
    Jeff Kleist
     
  19. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think they already did. Now we have aliens that are advanced enough to have mastered interstellar travel, but their computers are too slow...
    ------------------
    "The internet is a place where people from all over come together to
    bitch about movies and share pornography."
     
  20. Sean Oneil

    Sean Oneil Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I have now read that you CAN run Athlon XP chips in a dual config as they are the same as the Athlon MP chips. Both are the Palimino core. I heard that it is possible to run dual XP's now, but that AMD will try to make this impossible in the future.
    Again, does anyone have any knowlege on this subject? I am seriously thinking about running dual 1.533 XP's in a Tyan Tiger motherboard and would appreciate any input.
    Thanks [​IMG]
     

Share This Page