What audio settings should I use on my Toshiba A2

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by London Lawson, Nov 20, 2007.

  1. London Lawson

    London Lawson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the following
    Yamaha HTR5890
    2 fronts, 2 rears, sub and a center
     
  2. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15

    That is a non-HDMI receiver, so I assume you are hooking the audio up via optical. If so, your settings on the audio menu should be the following:

    SPDIF: Bitstream
    HDMI Audio: Downmix PCM

    This will give you DTS @ 1.5Mbs for HD audio from HD DVD and regular DD/DTS from SD DVD. The reason you set the HDMI to downmix is because any other setting causes the SPDIF optical to sound muffled. Not intuitive, but it works.
     
  3. brap

    brap Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Moncton, NB
    Real Name:
    Alisdair Edwards
    Wow! That's damnedest thing. Is this always or just on specific firmware? This explains why I was not as impressed with the DTS downmixes (I'm optical only) from my A2. I just figured that it was the cost of downmixing TrueHD to DTS. I'm definitely trying this when I get home and watching Batman Begins.
     
  4. Aaron Silverman

    Aaron Silverman Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 1999
    Messages:
    10,702
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    Florida
    Real Name:
    Aaron Silverman
    Good to know. Thanks, Jeff! (Still waiting for my HDMI and Toslink cables to show up.)
     
  5. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15

    The only ones I know for sure are the A2/A3, but I imagine the other models require it as well. It is cryptically referred to in the manual under the "Notes" section of the "Connect the player to your TV" chapter (pg. 21 in the A2 manual).
     
  6. mitch

    mitch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if you have an A2 with HDMI the audio setting should be HDMI:Auto and SPDIF:Bitstream?

    Mitch
     
  7. Rich Allen

    Rich Allen Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salisbury MD
    Real Name:
    Rich Allen
    Spdif should be PCM in that case. Always set the one you aren't using to the lowest quality.
     
  8. mitch

    mitch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich,

    Can you explain that a little more?

    Thanks,

    Mitch
     
  9. Rich Allen

    Rich Allen Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salisbury MD
    Real Name:
    Rich Allen
    As I understand it, you always set the one you aren't using to the lowest quality as it saves some on the processor on the unit. I quess it's because of a limited capacity of said processor. So if you are using the HDMI, set it at auto and the SPDIF at PCM. If you are using the SPDIF, set it at bitstream and the HDMI at PCM downconvert.
     

Share This Page