What's new

Weird geometry problem with old Mits. HDTV...please help! (1 Viewer)

Clint B

Second Unit
Hi. Earlier this year, my father gave me an old Mitsubishi 46" widescreen HDTV (I believe the model number is either WT-46805 or WT-46807...the TV's manufacturing date was sometime in 2001). Recently, the TV has been distorting the picture upon power-up so the picture looks "concave"...that is, the top and the bottom of the picture are bent inward. This also creates some ghosting effects. Usually it stops after a few minutes, but sometimes I have to turn the TV off and then on again to get it to display properly. I also have it hooked up to Dish Network (regular package, not HD). Does anyone have any idea what this could be, and if so, can you please explain it in as non-technical a way as possible (I'm not very good with in-depth tech stuff)? It seems weird to me that a TV that's only 4 years old would be having problems already. Thank you for any help you can provide.

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
That sounds like the same problem I had with my 55" Mitsubishi. The solder joints on the convergence panel went bad, and they had to be re-soldered. It will only get worse, by the way. This is a known problem with some Mitsubishi's.

Clint B

Second Unit
Thanks, Jim. That sounds like it could be a big deal. It obviously involves opening the set. Who would I get to do this and how much would it cost, if that is indeed my problem?

Ronn.W

Second Unit
Contact Mitsubishi and they should be able to give you a list of authorized repair people in your area. As for cost... I don't know and honestly don't want to think about it! But, since you got the TV for free, it's probably not a bad deal in the long run. Certainly cheaper than buying a new one. If it's a known problem, maybe you just have to pay for the labor?

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim