What's new

Weightlifting question (1 Viewer)

Mark Schermerhorn

Second Unit
I've been weightlifting fairly regularly for about 5 months or so, ever since I moved to the Boston area. I've generally made good gains in all areas.

However, I'm having trouble with my biceps. I haven't been able to increase my reps for about 2 months. I've sometimes been stuck for maybe a week on other exercises, but nothing like this. It concerns be because my triceps are advancing along and I don't want to get any part of my body out of balance. It will also impact my ability to exercise my back at some point.

I had been using dumbbells to do bicep curls initially. When this started happening, I figured I was cheating too much (even with the mirror discipline can be hard). So I switched to a curl machine for better isolation. That helped for a few weeks, then development stopped again.

Anyone have any ideas? More reps, less weight? Vice versa? Do 10 sets scattered throughout my workout? I'm at a loss. Remember, my body is making gains overall, so my general weightlifting approach probably isn't the main issue.

On an unrelated note, anyone ever notice that the guys with the worst form in the gym tend to be quite muscular? I wonder how they got muscular in the first place, when they're doing things like using their lower back for 90% of the effort on pull downs.

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
You could try some infinite resistance curls if you have a partner to lift with. Use what you would consider a rather light dumbell. Rest your are on an inclined bench. Curl it up and have your buddy grab on. Have the your partner slowly pull the dumbell to the extended position while you fight him as hard as you can (have him make it take 30-60 seconds). When extended he lets go and you raise it again yourself. 3 or 4 reps on each arm with 2 or 3 sets. If that doesn't get you past your hump I don't know what will ;)