What's new

Was thinking of 1080p, but would 720 suffice? Opinions please! Also laminate screen? (1 Viewer)

Rancho5

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Alec
Room is 22' long, 10' wide and 7' high. We'll be sitting at 14-18 feet away. I'd like my screen to be 8' wide with 16:9 ratio. (Whats that, 123 diagonal?)That leaves a foot on each side so basically the entire wall is a screen. Room is totally light controlled with no windows.

We have hundreds of DVD's and no Blu-ray's and frankly don't know if I will ever convert. I plan on the Onkyo SR606 with 1080 upscaling and our Sony DVD player has upscaling as well. All speakers are SVS.

I've looked at 1080p PJ's and was set on those when I began seeing that maybe 720 would suffice. The charts kind of confused me.

Sooooo... Would I need a 1080 for our viewing distances? And if so, or even not if so, would a screen that wide be feasible for a projector (1080 or not) and still have great video?

I'm a newb so let me have it! I'm willing to learn.

Finally, and a separate question, what are the feelings regarding wilsonart designer white laminate with the 1.24 gain over screen goo?

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
I think that's 110"

If you absolutely are going to stick with DVDs, then you won't see *that* much difference in 760 vs 1080. That's because DVD is a 720 media. You'll get an improvement with the upscaling, but the upscaler can only do so much, it can't add information that isn't there. (Well, it can, but it's an estimation.)

The image of a 760 or upscaled 1080 at that distance would probably not be classified at "great", although you may find it satisfactory depending on your tastes. You could try renting a project to test it out.

I'm not one to push Bluray (I don't like the price differential of the disks; and I only have a 47" TV), but you should consider Bluray for that size sceen and viewing distance.

Gregg Loewen

Founder, Professional Video Alliance
Insider
Senior HTF Member
Real Name