What's new

Want to build my own sub... some advice needed. (im a NEWB) (1 Viewer)

Anthony_I

Stunt Coordinator
Ok i will be using a rhythmik audio plate amp to power the sub, and it will be running from a Pioneer XV-HTD520.

Now here is my problem, if im going to build the sub (and the rest of the speakers) im naturally assuming that i should buy speakers that match the frequency response of my unit.
IE the sub channel on my unit has a response range of 30Hz - 2000Hz. I want to use a Phoenix Gold Octane R12d as the speaker for my sub. But ill be damned if i can find out what the response range of that speaker is... and the only place by me that i knows sells them wont fucking tell me cause "it doesnt really matter"

well to me it does. I've fallen in love with this speaker, the way it sounds, and looks.... its all flashy and shit lol. but i dont want to buy it if its freq response is going to be like 40Hz - 160Hz, cause then i would be missing a whole lot wouldnt i?

So what kinds of things do i need to know to build a sub and speakers for my unit.
and can ANYONE find any info about the freq. response of said speaker?? cause i cant find shit.

Rory Buszka

Supporting Actor
(black guy from Spaceballs): "Maaannn, we ain't found s***!"

Here's how it is, yo