Volume different for each source

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Brian Ralph, Mar 27, 2003.

  1. Brian Ralph

    Brian Ralph Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2000
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    My receiver has two optical and two coax audio inputs. My cd player and HD receiver use the coax via an optical - coax converter from Parts Express. My dvd player and DirecTv/TIVO use the optical.

    Each source seems to have wildly different volume requirements. The most glaring is HD or DVD to TIVO. Normal listening volume on TIVO is -45 to -50, but for HD and DVD I have to turn it up to -30 or so to get to the same "normal" listening volume. The CD player is about the same as DVD and HD. I guess the only one that seems to be way off is the TIVO.

    Is there a reasonable explantion, or even better, a solution to get them all to approximately the same levels?

    Equipment:

    Receiver: Harmon Kardon AVR500
    DVD player: Panasonic RP62
    HD receiver: RCA DTC100
    DirecTV/TIVO: Sony T-60
     
  2. Rick_Brown

    Rick_Brown Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    My receiver (Integra 6.2) has a setting called "Intellivolume" that allows me to preset an adjustment to the volume of each source. You might want to have a look in your manual for something equivalent. Good luck.
     
  3. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,740
    Likes Received:
    129
    Brian, what you're describing is perfectly normal. Each source outputs at different amplitude levels and, therefore, your receiver/system plays them back at different levels.
     
  4. RobWil

    RobWil Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the same note, I have a dual LNB dish with a sattelite receiver upstairs and one downstairs. The upstairs receiver is one of the original RCA's and the one downstairs is one of the original Sony's. The only choice for audio on both is analog. I've noticed that when listening to the sattelite
    music channels upstairs , I have to turn the volume up to around -10 to -15db and downstairs the normal -20 to -25db is all that's needed. Are the two different sattelite receivers outputing the audio at different levels then, as Jack describes above?
     
  5. Darryl

    Darryl Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    A lot of receivers let you adjust the volume of each channel for each input. Just adjust the volume for each channel while listening to the oddball input. If the volume is too terribly different, you may have to adjust the volume down for each channel for TIVO, and up for each channel for every other input.
     
  6. Brian Ralph

    Brian Ralph Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2000
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. Brian Ralph

    Brian Ralph Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2000
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turns out my receiver cannot preset the volume for each source. I can just preset the volume for when the unit is turned on.

    I also don't see anywhere in the TIVO T-60 to set volume for channels.

    Looks like I'll just have to deal with it.

    Thanks everyone!
     
  8. Jerome Grate

    Jerome Grate Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    6
    Now that I have everything going through my HK 500, video and audio, I utilize the osd (ON SCREEN DISPLAY) to set the speaker volumes for each device. I was running the DVD player through "COAX 1" but through Video 1. But when I selected DVD on the HK and "COAX 1", the speaker setting were all set to 0 including the sub. Once I set each speaker volume to match Video 1 Coax 1 that did the trick. I was now getting the same volume when I selected DVD Coax 1 as well as Video 1 Coax 1.
     

Share This Page