What's new

Velodyne 10" settings ( and most subs in general) (1 Viewer)

Dustin Wind

Stunt Coordinator
My sub has the following on the back:

X-OVER from 0-240

PHASE either 0 or 180 switch

INTERNAL X-OVER or DIRECT switch

To my understanding i should let my Kardon 325 do the x-over so the actual "X-OVER" knob is useless then.

Doing this i set the "INTERNAL X-OVER or DIRECT" switch to DIRECT?

Then i need to go into my receiver and put the SUB on GLOBAL and set the HZ to 80HZ? ( some people have told me 60HZ, some 80HZ and one guy said 240...so confusing!!!)

Then what do i put the PHASE switch to?

Finally....i set the volume on the SUB all the way down and use the receiver to turn the volume up? I set it to 80DB with a reader and Video essentials?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and letting me know if the stuff above is right or wrong.

I'm a complere newbie and appreciate ANY help.

PaulT

Supporting Actor
I'm not familiar with your receiver, but will have a go at this in general terms for sub set up.:

Let your receiver do the Cross over, so set your switch to Direct (that may bypass the Sub XOver switch anyway - read the manual to see). In the same note (assume you set the HK XOver to 80Hz if you have 'bookshelf' style speakers), then set the Sub X-Over to 240 to 'get it out of the way'.

Since there is roll off on your receivers Xover (and is on the sub as well) setting the sub to 80 or 100 may cause some loss due to the roll off - it's not a brick wall setting.

Personally I would set the Subs amp volume to 1/2 way and your receivers sub setting to 0db, then use your Video Essentials to calibrate. Keep the receivers sub setting close to 0 and adjust with the sub volume. One reason for this is if the receivers sub volume is set too low, the auto on/stdby feature of the sub may not work. Setting it too high just sends a hot signal to the sub from the receiver. The sub amp should be doing the amplification, not the receivers LFE output.