Using Computer speakers with my Plasma TV

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by xiaobao12, Nov 1, 2013.

  1. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    Is there a receiver that could allow me to hook up my Klipsch Promedia Ultras (3 x 3.5mm jacks) to use with my Plasma TV? I would hate to get rid of these speakers. They are 500 watts and the sub is great.

    I am currently using a Creative DDTS but there is an annoying hum that I can't figure out how to get rid of. Is it because I live in an old house and have ungrounded outlets? The Samsung is TOSLINK out to the DDTS.

    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You have to buy an AVR with pre-outs.

    An AVR with pre-outs would cost more than buying a
     
  3. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Schan,

    Thanks for replying. Sorry for the noob questions but I looked up the Integra and the Onkyo you listed. None of the outputs are 3.5mm.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
  5. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh duh. Stupid me. Yes, of course.

    Is there a signal lose if I go this route?

    [color=rgb(40,40,40);font-family:'Merriweather Sans', sans-serif;background-color:rgb(242,242,242);]An AVR with pre-outs would cost more than buying a
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You are missing the phrasing used...

    a meant for theater set of speakers.
     
  7. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    So EMI = electromagnetic interference right? I take it that you are saying if I do go this route of keeping these speakers and using RCA to 3.5mm, I will experience loss?
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    EMI has nothing to do with loss.

    I've used 200ft of 1/8th cable between amps before(when the amps were daisy chained and had a long run and wanted it where it could get stepped on...of course covered)

    How far away from the pre-outs is the woofer going to be?

    6ft? 10ft? 25ft?

    Is there a wifi network? Is there the base to a cordless phone?

    I just remembered...

    There is this thing. You can be the guinea pig...
    http://www.amazon.com/Panlong-Audio-Digital-Decoder-Converter/dp/B00AMC2J1Y/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1383339150&sr=1-2&keywords=toslink+5.1+analog
     
  9. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Schan, I ordered a Denon AVR-1613. I got it from Costco so can return if it's not good.
     
  10. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    So you are ditching your computer speakers and buying a new set of speakers.

    Cool.
     
  11. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well...not exactly yet. I do have a pair of Polk Monitors coming that I will try with this receiver.

    I haven't given up on the Klipsch Ultras yet! :) I found this receiver at Best Buy - it would work with my computer speakers right, since it has pre-outs?

    Thanks Schan.
     
  12. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    There is a guy on here selling a Yamaha RX-V1800.Same basic price as the Denon.And there is no link about "this will work".
     
  13. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    I re-read your post.That 1613 doesn't have pre-outs. Which is why I said..."oh so you are buying speakers"The lowest cost Denon with pre-outs is the 3312/3.
     
  14. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You only need 1 subwoofer input.That AVR, was well over $1000. Keep in mind it is not 3D compatible. Which is probably why he is selling it.
     
  16. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Schan - thanks for writing. I looked up some things on 3D. First, I would need a TV that has 3D, right? That is something that I don't see myself doing.

    Aside from that, would the V-1800 that that guy is selling be a great buy for me and keep me happy for many years?
     
  17. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    More than likely...yes.And when you decide on some real speakers...it will power darn near anything. Even Maggies.
     
  18. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    No. Preouts in Yamaha are the...

    667(last model year of the 6XX to have them)
    871
    773
    775

    If you can't tell...67/71/73/75 denote year they were made. The 6, 7 and 8(if not obvious...the first digit) denote series. Those are lowest model numbers each year to have pre-outs. So...if the 667 has pre-outs...so does the 767(if it exists) and 867(if it exists).
     

Share This Page