What's new

trouble getting it right (1 Viewer)

pookie

Auditioning
Real Name
phil
hi... I've just bought a set of 5.1 wharfdale crystal speakers and a sherwood 7.1 amp. I previosly had 5.1 onkyo system.
problem is I just can't seem to get the same clarity and realism from my setup as I had with onkyo :-(
I think I may have crossovers wrong. I've got front speakers set to large..all others set to small.
I've got my sub set on half volume and 80khz 'these are settings on the sub itself'.
I've got the crossover set on the amp at 80khz also.
Im actually finding the sherwood amp harder to configure than my 15yr old onkyo..
i am not really tech savvy when it comes to home theatre so any advice would be great..
oh.. and Im using a spare set of wharfdale front speakers as my surround speakers..and the smaller surrounds as my surround back speakers.
cheers
pookie

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
A few things. Unless your sub is really bad, you want the fronts set to small. Otherwise only the pure LFE channel is sent to the sub, not all the lower frequencies. (When set to small, the receiver sends the lower frequencies of *all* the channels to the sub).
Also, if your receiver has a crossover adjustment (as most do, including yours), then turn off the sub's crossover. (If it doesn't have an 'off', set it to the maximum.)
Finally, if the Sherwood (model# would help) doesn't have an auto calibration, then you have to get a calibration disk and an SPL meter and go at it old-school.
http://www.amazon.com/Disney-WOW-World-Wonder-Blu-ray/dp/B0045ASBLG/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1356790726&sr=8-5&keywords=audio+calibration+disc
http://www.amazon.com/USB-Digital-Sound-Level-Meter/dp/B005JX2EZ2/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1356790756&sr=8-2&keywords=spl+meter

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
It would also help to know which speakers are included in your particular Crystal set(Wharfedale has 5 different pre-package variations).

pookie

Auditioning