What's new

Transfering DVR shows t oDVD (1 Viewer)

JLKINSER

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
John Kinser
Hey all

I am replacing my DVR box Monday but would like to keep the DVR programs I have already recorded since the ones I have were recorded live and you can't get them anywhere. I have a DVd burner on my laptop. Can I burn my DVR programs to DVD? If so could some one explain in detail how to do it since I am a novice?

Thanks so much!!!

battlebeast

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Warren
Well, I have a great many movies on my PVR, and they ONLY way to get them off that I have found is this:

I connect my DVD Video Camera and select "line in", thus, the DVD records what my TV is showing... the movie I am playing back from my PVR.

Once I have the first part of the movie on a mini-DVD, I have to use Roxio Copy and convert to get it from the DVD into a Mpeg-2 format on my comp. From there, I can burn it to DVD! However, since the movie is longer than the legth of a mini-DVD, I have to copy the film in multiple parts. I connect the parts with Windows movie maker, and make the movie at a very high quality.

It's a long way, but that's the only way I know of getting the films off the PVR.

:/

AndyMcKinney

Senior HTF Member
obviously, a set-top DVD recorder will do the job without having to jump through a lot of hoops. Works similiarly to a VCR. One with a built-in hard drive is better than one without, but more expensive and a little harder to obtain a brand new one as the HDD-equipped ones have sort of been phased out Stateside. JR.com has a refurbished Magnavox HDD model for $160 with free shipping this week.

smithb

Screenwriter
Real Name
Brad Smith