What's new

Total noob at home theater hookup (1 Viewer)

Tim 13

Auditioning
Real Name
Tim
Okay, try to bear with me, because it's confusing as sin.
A couple of years ago, I bought a set of Coby 5.1 speakers, model number CS-P94, which are no longer available. They have the standard gray and black wires that go into the red and black inputs on the speakers themselves. Those wires narrow down to a single black wire, that connects to any of the input ports, Center, Front Left, Front Right, Rear Left, and Rear Right. From there, the circuit board on the back outputs to its own color-coded system, which is beige, green, and black, and the three ports are designated for Front Left and Front Right, Rear Left and Rear Right, and Center and Subwoofer. I'm getting a damn headache just thinking about it.
Now then; as a gift, I just got an A/V receiver, Yamaha, model HTR-3063. This one has HDMI 4 in/1 out, and a bunch of other crap connections I don't need because I only have HDMI devices.
My issue is that I can't seem to connect the speakers to the receiver correctly, because it seems that the connections that my speakers put out are totally unfamiliar to my receiver. I called the Geek Squad, and they wanted to charge me $160 to help me hook it up over the phone; PLEASE give me an alternative to that, that doesn't involve me flushing my speakers and my receiver down the toilet, which I'm this close to doing anyway. H E L P !
-Tim
Edit: Also, I forgot to mention; the three oddly-colored plugs from the speakers, the beige, green, and black; they are all Y-connectors that output to red and white cables.
0d472606_16796_12075_1.jpeg