What's new

Thinking about buying a motorcycle... (1 Viewer)

JeremySt

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeremy
I recently decided that I would like to get a motorcycle to get around town during the summer, so I can save on gas, and have something fun to ride around on. Im not a newbie, Ive got plenty of experience riding. I grew up on a farm, and rode a dirt bike everyday.

Im 26 now, live in the city, so now its time for a street bike. I dont want to do anything japanese, mainly because Im not looking for that affiliation. Im not a racerboy.

-edit- What I mean is, this isnt for streetlight racing, its for spirited short rides on the backroads. I have nothing against Japanese bikes, Its just not what Im looking for.

What I want is a Ducati. ( A little different than a dirt bike, but I have the patience and self control to work my way into it, skill-wise.) This isnt for showing off or racing, its just for me to have fun, and do mostly moderate cruising. Im trying to stay in the $2500-$3000 range, so its going to be something about 10 years old, which is fine.

Is there anyone out there with experience in these situations who can offer insights into what I might be looking for? Something like a 7xx or 9xx supersport, maybe?

Philip_G

Senior HTF Member
:confused:

that's really all I can say, you want something for 3k but won't buy an old jap bike because of some sort of stereotype, yet want a duc?

I really don't know what to tell you man.

JeremySt

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeremy
Then why post at all?

I didnt mean to imply anything negative about Japanese Motorcycles, its just that I see enough of them around here, and I like they way Ducatis look. Ive done some looking and see plenty of of 1998+ models going for $4-5k... Im sure I can find what Im looking for if im patient. I have a buddy who got a 1995 with 9k miles for around $2k.

I want a Ducati, do I need to justify it?

Philip_G

Senior HTF Member