The Upgraded Anthem AVM-20 2.0 Thread

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Chas_T, Sep 4, 2002.

  1. EdB

    EdB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gulp. I have a problem.
    I bought an Anthem several months ago. My house was completed about 4 weeks ago and I was happy to have the Anthem fired up. Well, I am having two problems:
    1. When I use the set up menu the picture "flickers".It stops as soon as I start my DVD player.
    2. More troublesome, I am hearing "pops" like those described in some BK amp forums. They begin after the system is running for about an hour. I also, at times have the tweater on my center channel(monitor audio-new) dropping out right before a "pop".
    I am not and AV expert and am frustrated. Anyone have any ideas as to what I should do?
    thanks,
    Ed
     
  2. Neil Potter

    Neil Potter Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem. Loud pop's and total center shut down. Mine was a bad processor and Anthem quickly replaced the unit. The problem has been around but Anthem's service is stellar..I have found no better!
    Good Luck!
    NP[​IMG]
     
  3. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ed,

    As Neil noted, it could be a hardware problem. To eliminate a possible software problem, which version of the AVM-20's software do you have installed? Make sure you have software version v2.09 installed (if your AVM-20 is an older one running at v1.xx, make sure you have v1.12).

    If you need to update your software version, go to Anthem's web site and get the latest version of software. After you install it, go to the setup menus and perform a Reload Factory Defaults. At this point, you will need to re-enter your setup parameters. Hopefully, this will correct the problem. If not, contact your dealer or Anthem.

    Michael
     
  4. EdB

    EdB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil and Michael:
    Thanks for the interest. I have software version 2.09 (I just got the Anthem in May, but had to wait for my house to be finished to use it). So, I take it, that means I need to contact Anthem.
    Thanks again,
    Ed
     
  5. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ed,
    If you have the time, I would perform a Reload Factory Defaults (which will require setting up again), and see if that corrects the problems. Chances are it won't, but there have been instances where the reload actually solved the problems.
    Also, maybe your dealer can open the AVM-20 up (I assume they are authorized for Anthem repairs) and reseat all boards and connectors. Other than that, you will need to contact Anthem.
    Sorry. [​IMG]
    Michael
     
  6. Lee Wilson

    Lee Wilson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello AVM 20 owners,

    The V2.1 upgrade is now available on the anthem web site, including a new manual. Happy upgrades and good luck!

    Lee
     
  7. ChrisHeflen

    ChrisHeflen Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page