What's new

The Ring (Wagner's) (1 Viewer)

Stefan A

Second Unit
For the 13 years or so that I have been into classical music (and have a B.S. and M.M in music) it is surprising that I have not actually sat down and listened to The Ring. Of course I have known the popular sections. But, the other day, I listened to Das Reingold and followed the libretto. Now I am ready to go through the rest of them. I listened to Solti with VPO for Das Reingold. I have The Met with James Levine for Die Walkure. I still do not own Siegfried or Gotterdammerung but want to get them. I would like to get the Solti recordings of the others.

So, I am just wondering which recordings you guys like. Also, have any of you seen the Cycle on DVD with Boulez? As far as I know, that is the only one out on DVD right now.

Shaw

Stunt Coordinator
Hi:
I have been listening to Classical for about 20 years and Opera about 7.
For Wagner recordings I have:
Ring (complete) Solti, VPO
Ring (complete) Bohm, Bayreuth (Live)
Die Walkure (DVD) complete Levine, Morris, Met
Das Rheingold, Staatskapelle Dresden, Janowski
The Solti Ring is perhaps not as spontaneous as the Live Bohm set, but the orchestra is amazing. Make sure to get the "de-hissed" 1997 re-mastering with the CEDAR process. Amazing sound for it's age and very consistent from one opera to the next.
The Bohm is great for the spontaneous flow of the drama, but the orchestra can have a little trouble with tuning here and there. There is also some audience noise which can be a little ditracting at times. The Bohm is very "high octane" though in it's own way and is very exciting too.
AS to which complete Ring, I guess it's a question of what you think you would prefer. The live Bohm is more spontaneous, but the Solti has the amazing Vienna Philharmonic which has the most amazing brass. Incredible!