The Matrix Revolutions - glitch?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by John H Ross, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. John H Ross

    John H Ross Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, what's THIS now?

    I finally gave in and bought into BD (in some ways, against my better judgement) because I thought it had gotten over its initial teething problems. I avoided the Pirates Of The Caribbean debacle by getting the corrected disc in the trilogy boxed set, then I (hopefully) avoided the Bond debacle by having a Panasonic BD-50 player (the discs are still en route from Amazon) but now, just as I am poised to order it, I'm hearing about a glitch in the Matrix box set.

    C'mon guys these are BIG titles and BIG releases and this kinda thing ain't gonna do the reputation of BD much good!!

    Matrix Revolutions Blu-Ray problem
     
  2. Sam Davatchi

    Sam Davatchi Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for letting us know. I was undecided and was thinking of maybe getting this boxset but now I know what to do!
     
  3. Bob-ATL

    Bob-ATL Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    I see this on my copy as well, but it is not nearly as bad as those screen captures.

    I have the Panasonic BD30.

    Just a few bad pixels that lasts about 3 to 5 frames.

    I'll have to see if it's like this on the HD-DVD. I'll report back later on that.
     
  4. Bob-ATL

    Bob-ATL Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    This glitch does not occur on the HD-DVD. I have the Toshiba HD-A2.
     
  5. Will_B

    Will_B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    The other note in that article, "The VC1 file for the film itself is only about 13.4 GB. They could have re-encoded the film and DOUBLED the bitrate of the VC1 file and it would have still fit..." will keep me away from this set, too.
     
  6. Edward Schatz

    Edward Schatz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I can remove this from the amazon wish list....too bad
     
  7. Joseph J.D

    Joseph J.D Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    5
    Oh Shit......They've gotta be kidding me! I just bought the set a week ago and have yet to go through the discs. I really hope that Warner Bros. does the right thing and issue an exchange program like they did a year ago with their Superman DVD's. It's ridiculous that they would let such a glitch go through in one of their biggest releases so far. I also agree that they should increase the bitrate too......there's no need to be cheap Warner, your sets are selling! [​IMG]
     
  8. RickER

    RickER Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Real Name:
    Rick
    Its less than a second. I had to back it up and watch it again. If i didnt know what it was, i might have missed it.

    I have DVDs with motion artifacts that are 100 times worse.

    Course, that doesnt mean i want Warner to cheapen the product. But who LOOKS for this stuff? It looks fantastic.
     
  9. troy evans

    troy evans Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree that it's more than likely really small and if you didn't look you may not notice it. However, the HD DVD does not have this glitch and when it comes to hi-def releases people expect nothing short of perfect. And rightly so. After all, that is Blu-ray's promise. I don't own this set yet. I did buy the Matrix set on HD DVD when it was released and still have my mega sd dvd set. Looks like I'll be waiting on this Blu-ray release till the problem is fixed.
     
  10. troy evans

    troy evans Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    John, did Bond push you over to Blu? If he did, your judgement was sound my friend [​IMG] Anyway, we are experiencing quite a few bumps in the road here lately with Blu releases. As hard as it may be to believe, it is worth it. Thank You by the way for the heads up on this. The sets been out over two weeks and no one else has mentioned the glitch.
     
  11. LarryH

    LarryH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2000
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    1

    I thought the look and sound of perfection was HD-DVD's motto [​IMG]
     
  12. Brandon Conway

    Brandon Conway captveg

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    8,473
    Likes Received:
    1,201
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    Real Name:
    Brandon Conway
    It should be noted that on the PS3 the glitch only shows up as a brief frame skip with no artifact distorting, as explained in other threads about this issue on other message boards. This is probably why the issue hasn't received as much attention as it deserves so far.
     
  13. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    11,791
    Likes Received:
    827
    Location:
    Michigan
    I watched all three films over the weekend. I barely even noticed the glitch on Revolutions using a Sony BDP-S350 player. It appeared as a brief frame skip, and I probably wouldn't have noticed it at all if not for this thread.
     
  14. Paul Arnette

    Paul Arnette Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    0

    Warner Bros. is generally pretty good at doing the 'right thing' in these cases, but they have to know about it first. Therefore, Brandon has hit the nail on the head, which is this issue needs more publicity.
     
  15. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,958
    Likes Received:
    24
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    imma go home and check. it is possible that a firmware patch will fix this =P. are the matrix sets BD+? just thinking of reasons why it would skip. early BDs would have some of these issues only to be fixed via software updates later.
     
  16. Brandon Conway

    Brandon Conway captveg

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    8,473
    Likes Received:
    1,201
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    Real Name:
    Brandon Conway
    No, it's definitely a compression error.
     
  17. Bob-ATL

    Bob-ATL Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just called Warner at 1-800-553-6937. The woman that answered was very nice.

    I told her about the Matrix Revolutions Blu-Ray glitch and the approximate time in the movie that it occurs.

    As far as she knew, I was the first to report this.

    I made sure to tell her that this is a widely reported problem, not just my copy.

    I also told her that the HD-DVD of Matrix Revolutions did not exhibit this problem.

    She then gave me another number to call, 1-818-954-6000. Called it and was directed to someone who was not in, but I did leave a voice mail. I'll let you know if I hear back from them.

    I did forget to mention that on some players (PS3) it skips these bad frames, resulting in a jump cut. So maybe anyone else that calls can mention this.

    She told me that this info would be forwarded along to the proper parties.

    If we expect to get this fixed and re-issued, I suggest that everyone who cares about this glitch give them a call.

    Based on Warner Bros history of correcting and replacing problem discs, I'm fairly optimistic that if enough people call they will replace this eventually.

    Thanks,

    Bob
     
  18. David Coleman

    David Coleman Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2000
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    3
    I rented it this weekend. I thought something was up during that scene, so it's definitely an encoding error.
     
  19. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,958
    Likes Received:
    24
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    i just checked on TWO of my HTPCs with LG-GGC-H20L and powerdvd 8 and 7.3.

    i do NOT see anything wrong in that scene and i stepped through it frame by frame using MPC/nero showtime as well. no pixelation for me. i've checked it on my 37" 1080p westy and my benq 720p front projecto@100" as well as my friend's house when i'm over, the vizio 42" 1080p. it just doesn't exist!

    sorry fellas, it's just a matter of ur hardware/firmware updates. it plays perfectly fine here.
     
  20. John H Ross

    John H Ross Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sufficient people have spotted it to suggest that it DOES exist.

    Believe me I wish it didn't because I was really looking forward to getting this set.
     

Share This Page