What's new

The Devils (1971) What's the hold up? (1 Viewer)

Greg_M

Screenwriter
Anyone know what's going on with this Warner Bros. Title? I've heard so many different things:

That Warner Bros won't release an X rated film
That an uncensored version is floating around after it was broadcast on a British cable station.
A documentary was put together with the cut sequences
Warner Bros has mentioned in chats that's it's being considered
The edited version was released on VHS here in the states

Anyone know the story?

Stephen_J_H

All Things Film Junkie
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Stephen J. Hill
In answer to the first one, no; they've already released two films that were previously X-rated but re-rated R on resubmission to the MPAA (The Director's Cut of The Wild Bunch and Luchino Visconti's The Damned), and I think The Devils would likely get re-rated on resubmission.
Number two sounds like an urban legend.
Number three I have no knowledge of.
Number four: yes, it has been mentioned in chats.
Number five is correct.

I think it's more likely a case of getting around to releasing it, like Kenneth Branagh's Hamlet.

Mike Heenan

Second Unit
#2 is not an urban legend... although even that version is missing one scene, that I think WAS filmed but left out... or it doesn't exist anymore, not sure.

Bob Graham

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Bob Graham
I keep hoping for a Ken Russel box from Warner with: THE DEVILS:SE; ALTERATED STATES: REMASTERED SE; THE BOY FRIEND; LISZTOMANIA; and SAVAGE MESSIAH.

JeffMc

Supporting Actor
Real Name
jeffmc
Channel 4 in the UK broadcast the uncut version of the film (minus the always missing "Rape of Christ" sequence which was cut from the film by the BBC censors before its original release). However, that network also broadcast a documentary about the history and censorship of the film which DID include the legendary "Rape of Christ" sequence, unseen for years by basically everybody but those original BBC censors.