The "Beast" MkIII

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by JimRHIT, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. JimRHIT

    JimRHIT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,
    Just though I'd share some pix of my new baby :b

    She's good for pegging the Rat Shack meter anywhere for 20Hz - 35Hz ( at which point 126dB in my room scares me .. or maybe the windows get scared .... either way)

    It sounds excellent in my opinion ... very similar to my 18hz sonotube for my AV12 ... but less localizable

    Believe it or not .. this actually blends in very well.

    This is one of the two tower that I planned to build, but after ~30 manhours of working on it (now its finished) I think I have all the bass i need [​IMG]

    Enjoy
    http://www.rose-hulman.edu/~walterjj...il%20beast.htm

    Thanks agian to Deon and Drew for the assistance

    Jim
     
  2. Brendan_Lewis

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    What drivers are going in it?
    Have any finished pics? [​IMG]
     
  3. Owen Bartley

    Owen Bartley Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dude, how much power are you feeding that monster? (and yeah, what drivers too?)
     
  4. JimRHIT

    JimRHIT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    The drivers are some random one offs that I had lying around

    vas ~80L
    fs ~30Hz
    qt ~.6
    xmax ~18mm one way

    Believe it or not ... I am presently only feeding them one channel of my NAD 216THX ... they are 4ohm svc drivers wired series parallel... so they are seeing about 50W rms each ...

    I'll get some finished pix up sometime soon.

    jim
     
  5. Owen Bartley

    Owen Bartley Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, only 50w each... but I guess when you have 4 drivers going it makes up for it. Seems like this might be a job for that new PE 500w amp!

    Love to see the finished pics when you get time.
     
  6. Mike Keith

    Mike Keith Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice project, I'm curious why 4 ports? Did you model them in any software first.
     
  7. JimRHIT

    JimRHIT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the compliment Mike.

    I used the 4 ports in order to have enough x-sectional area to move enough air for all 4 drivers, while keeping port velocities "low". The problem of using 4 ports is the extreme length of the ports used 4ft ... yeilding pipe organ resonances somewhere above 70Hz, but since I run them from 50Hz down .. no worries.

    I modeled them in SoundEasy 8.0 ... of you look at the top of the webpage ... you can see the model for it.

    I will get some finished pix up soon enough

    jim
     

Share This Page