What's new

Tempest enclosure measurements? (2 Viewers)

Dave George

Stunt Coordinator
I'm deciding upon the final plans for my dual tempest sub, and came across this post by Dan Wiggins on HTT from a while ago:
"OK, here's yet another design to kick around... You know, I just come up with these, like I'm a speaker designer or something...
For good "tight" sound, a Q of 0.577 is often used. It's maximally flat in terms of phase rotation (group delay). But, for home theater, you want a pretty low Fc (down around 20 Hz or so). So, how about this:
175L per Tempest
64 ounces of stuffing
Tune to 17.5 Hz (4"ID by 13"L vent; note that our 4" flared vent kit would work well here - yes, that's a shameless plug... )
You'll have a response that:
Has an F3 anechoic of 22 Hz with the typical LFE crossover.
Is power limited to 500W above 15 Hz (for linear operation).
Mimics a 3rd order Q=0.577 Fc=20 Hz filter to +/- 0.25 dB down to 13 Hz.
Should provide a typical in-room F3 around 17 Hz.
Is capable of more than 110 dB SPL from 16 Hz and up, anechoic.
Is capable of more than 118 dB SPL from 17 Hz and up, in a typical room.
How does that design sound? Yeah, it's different again, but should be a good combination between tight articulate bass for music, and smack-you-upside-the-head SPL capability...
Dan Wiggins
Adire Audio"
The sub will be for 50% music, 50% HT. Any comments on this design?
Dave

Hank Frankenberg

Senior HTF Member