Surround sound wont play my tv sound

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Preston Abel Nesemeier, Jul 7, 2013.

  1. Preston Abel Nesemeier

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have an Yamaha HTR-6030 Receiver, a Motorola DCT6416 DVR/Cable Box, and a Samsung UN55ES7100 TV and trying to hook up the surround sound for when I just simply watch a tv show. I ran a optical cable from the input on the receiver to the optical output on the DVR but I am not getting any sounds. Help please.
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Have you set the input on the Yamaha?
     
  3. Preston Abel Nesemeier

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have it set on DTV/CBL and no go.....Now I messed with setting and on all input me rear channels will not play.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    By "set the input"...Did you go into the menu and change DTV/CBL to optical instead of default analog?
     
  5. Preston Abel Nesemeier

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have it set on auto, still no go. There is no digital selection- just analog or audio
     
  6. Sabby

    Sabby Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Rick
    Are you using an HDMI cable from the cable box to the receiver. If you are make sure the cable box audio is set to Hdmi. If you have run the HDMI cable directly to the TV, not through the receiver, then you need to run audio cables from the TV to the receiver.If you can, the best way is to run HDMI from the cable box to the receiver and from the receiver to the TV.
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The 6030 doesn't take audio off the HDMI.
     
  8. Martino

    Martino Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 5, 1999
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Real Name:
    Martin O.
    "Yamaha HTR-6030 Receiver, a Motorola DCT6416 DVR/Cable Box, and a Samsung UN55ES7100 TV"
    "I ran a optical cable from the input on the receiver to the optical output on the DVR but I am not getting any sounds"

    - From your description - you only have a cable box, a receiver and a TV. I know this sounds obvious - but do you have speakers connected to the receiver? If No - that is your problem, as a receiver will process the signal and output them to speakers that will make the sound.

    If you do have speakers connected and just did not mention it - then you can start debugging. Start with the source and work your way through it. Does the cable box have a setting that lets it know to send a signal through the cable you are trying to use?
    Do you need to turn the optical out signal (or whatever your cable box calls it) on at the receiver first?
    If that is set - then you need to make sure that your receiver is set to receive the input from that cable. What is the optical input on the receiver you hooked it up to called? Whatever that connection is called, you need to set the receiver to that. If you set the receiver to TV - but the signal is coming in on optical 1 input - you will never hear it.
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The OP's response to my question of..."Did you go into the menu and set the input?"With..."I have it set on auto"...Means..."No I haven't read the owners manual to even know how to properly answer the question...nor how to take 15 seconds to set the input."
     
  10. Preston Abel Nesemeier

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Of course I set the input on DTV/Cable and that is where the optical cable is hooked up from.
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    On the AVR itself, on the back, the optical can be labeled DTV/Cable all it wants. And you can connect a toslink to it.Means nothing if you haven't gone IN THE MENU for setup and set DTV/Cable for...Optical 1(or optical 2...may be even optical 3)Have you done that?
     
  12. Angie Blower

    Angie Blower Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.. I have the same problem I have a LG tv model 42LD450ZA, freeview box from talk talk its a my view box .. Model Huawei DN370T... And a Philips 5 in1 home cinema surround sound model LX3750WNow I've tried everything to get sound coming from my tv through the home cinema speakers to no avail, I purchased a optical digital audio cable and put that from my tv to the cinema speakers still no sound ... Please help this is driving me mad.. If you could send me instructions simply as I'm new too all this thank you ... There is sound through the speakers through the Philips DVD player, so I've set that up ok... Thanks in anticipation
     

Share This Page