Surround Sound Problems w/ Cable Box

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by clefler13, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. clefler13

    clefler13 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    HTF.
    I'm new here and any help would be great. I have my cable box, PS3 and TV hooked into my receiver via HDMI cable (specs below.) Whenever I run my receiver on the HD-DCS setting (the optimal setting based on the source,) the receiver shows an output of 7.1 or 5.1 surround sound depending on the game/Blu Ray. When the TV is running, my receiver shows a 2.1 output. The odd thing is when I switch off the TV, but leave the system running, the receiver displays a 5.1 output (and it sounds great.) Am I missing something in the way I hook up my components that results in this phenomenon?
    Thanks for the help!
    CT
    TV: 40″ 1080P 120HZ LED HDTV LD-4065
    Receiver: Sony STRDH720 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver (Black)
    Speakers: Onkyo SKS-HT870 7.1 Speaker Set
    Cable Box: Standard Time Warner Cable Box
    PS3: 80GB Original Model (PS398004)
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Turn "audio output to TV" off.
     
  3. Ed Moxley

    Ed Moxley Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern NC
    Real Name:
    Ed
    Also, make sure that in the cable box settings, the audio output is set to "Dolby Digital".
    Most tv shows are broadcast in stereo. I'd set the receiver to Dolby Pro Logic II, while in tv mode. Any programs broadcast in 5.1 will play in 5.1 surround, and all the stereo channels will play in 5.1 simulated surround (better than stereo). If you set it to Dolby Pro Logic IIx, it will play everything in simulated 7.1 surround. This is how I listen to tv. Good luck.
     
  4. clefler13

    clefler13 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can not change my TV's audio output to off, but I will try changing the cable box's audio out to surround. I watch in Dolby Pro Logic now, but when the signal comes through in it's native Dolby Digital 5.1, it sounds so much better.
    Thanks for the help!
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    I meant "turn off audio output to TV" in the AVR.
     
  6. clefler13

    clefler13 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Schan1269. That worked perfectly. Thanks!
     

Share This Page