Surrond from VHS?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Steve Carlo, Jun 16, 2003.

  1. Steve Carlo

    Steve Carlo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a number of VHS tapes which are recorded in Dolby 5.1. But not surprisingly the VCR only has outputs for L and R audio. So I can pipe this to the TV and the receiver. But, how does the receiver turn this 2 chanel sound into true 5.1 as opposed to Pro Logic 5.1 sound?
    Thanks!
     
  2. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,922
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, It can't be done with a VHS tape. You are stuck with "pro-logic" surround.

    Brent

    You DID NOT record the digital information off of the DVD/laser disc, but you recorded the L/r signal from the analog end.
     
  3. Steve Carlo

    Steve Carlo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    That makes sense...but why would the tape say on it "recorded in Doly 5.1" I'm talking about commercial tapes (in this case Fifth Element)
     
  4. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Are you sure it's the tape?
    The movie will list the types of surround systems used in the theatrical release at the end of the film. This has nothing to do with how the VHS or DVD is encoded.
     
  5. Steve Carlo

    Steve Carlo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll check the tape again. It really does make sense that a 2 channel couldn't put out 5.1.
     

Share This Page