hard wood floors
entertainment center with 42" Sony in the center

receiver is Yamaha R-V703
power:
mains 80w+80w (8 ohms) RMS output 1KHz
center 80w (8 ohm)
rears 20w+20w (8ohm)

now for what speakers im looking at:

Onix ELT1 for $1000 (if i read it right on there site)

axiom epic grand master (1 problem i have with this setup is id have to lay the bookshelf's down so might have to see if they could exchange the speakers for the next size down)

Apeion haven't really researched them much.

now the questions:
will my receiver run these 3 speaker brands ok?

what in your opinion would you suggest for my room size?

what speaker set up would be the best of both worlds (movies/music)

any suggestions would be helpful seeing that i am very new to audio setups
THX

Chris Quinn

Screenwriter
For music and HT have you given Ascend Acoustics Ascend a thought? You can also find info at Ascendforum. The Ascend 170 can be turned on side w/o a problem.

Have you tried audioenvy.com and the Axiom forum to see if anyone in your area will let you hear theirs Rockets or Axioms?

Harold Wazzu

Supporting Actor
I gotta ask this, I'm sorry. But why would you buy $1000 speakers and drive them buy a >$200 receiver? Is the receiver really that good?

Larry.H

Grip
well im looking at getting the speakers then upgrading the receiver when i get back from the arctic in november.

chris:
i'll go there now and look; thx

Merimac Hamwich

Stunt Coordinator
I would personally upgrade the reciever first, then the speakers. That's just me though, not the most savvy person here.

I would have to disagree with Merimac Hamwich on this matter. The difference in sound quality will be much more noticeable with a speaker upgrade as opposed to a receiver upgrade. Since you are planning on upgrading both the speakers and the receiver, I would recommend upgrading your speakers first if you want a more immediate and drastic improvement in your system's sound quality.